Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:35 p.m. - 2004-08-26
Another boring day

What is NEEEEEEEEW?

Today was another delightfully boring day in which I finished my work and got to TRY to read my book. Howard didn't explain any TV shows and The Love Muffin only talked half as much as he did the day before. What made it especially nice is that Chander, the owner of our company didn't come in for the 2nd day in a row. He is so weird and I really don't like him. It is not his fault that I don't like him, he is really a nice fellow, just very very odd.

He is not odd because he is Indian. I have other Indian freinds and they are not odd and they don't irritate me. But Chander is like your typical cheap, used car sales man personality all wrapped up in an Indian's body. He has a thick accent and is always teasing. His teasing reaches beyond normal razzing that goes on in a work place....well lets put it this way....he teases about every little thing...even when it sound stupid and then follows up with an, "I am just teasing you", before you have had time to process his odd comment and react. If I had a dime for every time he says, "I am just teasing", I could quit the stupid job and venture into writing full time.

I take back what I said about him above...he is more like a used car salesman on steroids. Other annoying habits he has is that he kisses the floor on his way in and out of the building, orders all printed material in green ink because it is the color of money and has a habit of asking us "What is New" 500 time a day.

Now there is never much new at a pallet company, so it has taken us a while to figure out what he means by "NEW". We have sinced figured out that anytime anyone so much as farts....well that is NEW! like I said, his accent is thick and the word NEW comes out sounding like "NIEWWWWWWWW". Kind of like a cats "MEEEEEEW"....or the expression "EEEEEEEW". I am sorry but the guy just irritates me. I used to be mean to him with the hopes that he would fire me, thus enabling me to live on unemployment for a while, just long enough for me to launch my personal biography business and earn a living from writing. Dan convinced me though that if I cooperated with him maybe he would spend less time in the office and leave us alone so we could have our happy little world back again. (Chander just acquired this company...prior to this we had another owner who left us completely alone to run the business as long as we were making him money.)

Darned if Dan wasn't right...I have had to grit my teeth a bit, but I have been down right buddy buddy with Chander and he is indeed leaving us alone more and more. See, Chander doesn't know that Howard takes an afternoon nap and that I read my books and that the Love Muffin drones on and on about Darlene while Dan reads the paper. We all work extra hard while he is there, finish all our work and then we take it easy for the rest of the day. The less Chander is in the office...the less we have to pretend we are working hard.

Now don't get me wrong....we are doing everything required to run this business...it's just that after working together for 13 plus years...we have honed this Pallet business down to a fine art and the shit litterally hits the fan in the morning....we are all working double time and pulling our hair out until around noon....we do this so we can take the PM easy.

On a sad note though....Little Pooh Bear never did return. He has been gone 2 days now. This is not a case of kitty neglect....Pooh Bear is one of those kittys that you can not keep in. If you try to keep him in, he pees all over things that you prefer to keep unpeed on. He mews incessantly and would escape at the first chance. He has a wild streak and therefore, we had to let him come and go. However, he has never stayed away from either of his homes for more than 8 or 9 hours...Now he has been gone for over 36 hours. I am hoping a coyote did not get him. Maybe he went inside some other factory's warehouse and is trapped in there and will be home another day. Maybe someone took him home, as he is very freindly. If that is so, they will bring him back as soon as they refuse to let him out and he pees on their bed.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!