Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:28 p.m. - 2004-08-25
Talk Talk Talk

Just Ramblings

Had a boringly ordinary day today. Pooh-Bear disappeared this morning at 6:30 before I got in to work and it seems like he didn't learn his lesson from the other night. He didn't come home again before we had to lock up and we couldn't find him anywhere. I hope he manages OK tonight because there are storms a commin. No doubt he will come home tomorrow morning and take another long nap

I finished my work early today and actually had time to read my book. I took too many books out of the library almost two weeks ago. Some were about making money on the internet (garbage)..one was on geneology (too involved)...this one I have now is about writing a manuscript that won't get rejected. I was already to sit down and get into it when my boss decided that he wanted to ramble on about this and that and sat his fanny down in the desk across from me and explained detail by detail what he watched on TV last night.

Now I don't really watch TV...maybe a documentary now and then or a rented movie...but honestly...I don't even know what shows are on, nor do I care, nor do I care to get a play by play of stupid TV shows from someone else....but I politely listened. I wished his wife would call...which she does about 10 times a day...but never when he is in the "let me tell ya what I watched last night" mode. Finally he got up and moseyed into his office for a nap, and I opened my book back up.

Enter....The Love Muffin. The Love Muffin can talk your ear off about all kinds of stuff you don't care to hear. It is worse than Howard's TV episode synopsis.

PAUSE...WOW...WHAT A BEAUTIFUL SUNSET THERE IS OUT THERE!!!!

OK..back to The Love Muffin. He was pacing back and forth (all the men in our office pace..drives me nuts) and just talking constantly to who ever would listen. First he tried to get me going on a political subject. I am a recovering politics and talk radio junkie and I have given up arguing with people whos minds I have no chance of changing anyway....Anyway..he insulted everything I hold dear and tried to get me to argue. I didn't bite. I just nod and keep my head in my book.

Failing to get my attention that way, he started pacing back and forth in front of my desk while a stream of verbal vomit came flying out of his mouth...peppered with enough little "Ya Know"'s and questions that you had to listen and had to answer.

He rattled on; "Howard's gonna retire in 2 weeks I'm gonna miss him are you gonna miss him it just wont be the same around here with out Howard. I think he won't be able to stay away from here, do you think he'll be able to stay away from here, I don't, I think he will come in now and then, I don't think he will be able to stay home..at least he has a home to go to, Darlene stole my home, BITCH it wasn't fair that she got everything don't you think I should have gotten something? I know I know I gave it all to her but she was supposed to take me back..BITCH......

This went on and on and on. As a matter of fact...anything you start to talk to The Love Muffin about ends up with a diatribe on what a bitch Darlene is. I wanted to shout; "Listen you asshole...if you hadn't gotten drunk and flown your brand new Corvette off the expressway and into the woods....If you hadn't gotten drunk and called up Darlene's old boyfriend from 30 years ago and accused him of sleeping with her....If you hadn't gone to her place of employment, drunk, and yelled at her boss and co workers for advising her to get out of the marriage before she lost every thing....AND if you hadn't gotten drunk and brought in all the colors of left over spray paint you had in the garage and decorated you walls and furniture with them just to prove to her in a drunken fit that it was YOUR HOUSE AND YOU PAID FOR IT....you still might be married."

But I just sat there...not reading my book and went "Uh HuH...Uh HuH" over and over again...wishing he would go in the warehouse and do the job he is getting paid 800.00 a week for.

OK...I am all worked up now and I must calm down. Speaking of books...My daughter just brought over "The Lovely Bones"...I think I am going to take a break from trying to learn how to make money from home and just read a good book...reading some good stuff just may make me a better writer.

AN OBSERVATION I MADE WHILE DRIVING HOME: A fat Greek man walking into The Village Taverna in Schaumburg giving his crotch a good scratch...right there with all the busy rush hour traffic to see.

ANOTHER OBSERVATION I MADE WHILE DRIVING HOME....THIS ONE MADE ME SMILE AND THANK THE LORD ABOVE....Two beautiful goldfinches merrily feasting on dried flower tops on the side of the road in rush hour traffic...reminding me that although civilization tries it's damndest....we can't completely remove Mother Nature...Thank You God.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!