Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:50 p.m. - 2004-09-07
Michelle's Trip to DC

Michelle's Trip To Washington

The phone rang at work this morning. I answered and the tearful voice on the other end said, "Hi Mom, I just read the post your wrote about my birthday. Thank you so much, it was better than any present you could ever give me." I assured her that writing about her comes naturally, all I had to do was put my hands on the keyboard and the words just flow. When you love somebody so much, you don't have to think....it just comes. I assured her that it was no great feat.

Then it dawned on me...."your in Washington DC and your supposed to be sight seeing right now."

"Oh, I didn't want to spend the whole day in the city from 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM by myself waiting for Demelza to get off of work, so I am just at her place chilling." she said.

I asked her if she got to see the White House and the Capital Building and the answer was no to both. "I can always see those in a picture or on TV Mom, I wanted to see the city."

She told me about the dinner at Ruth's Chris Steak house. "Honey, they have one of those here!" I reminded her.

"I know but I wanted to see the one in DC she said, it was awsome and the filet mignon and lobster tail were so good." she replied

She went on and told me about the clubs they went to and about how they went to a couple of shopping areas and then of course Monday was spent at the Georgetown Mall....that was awsome too.

I just kept my mouth shut as I thought about the fact that we live a 5 minute drive from Chicagolands largest mall. As a matter of fact, Woodfield is one of the largest in the whole country, but I guess you haven't really seen a city unless you've seen "IT's" shopping mall.

She comes home tonight and I will go pick her up at O'Hare.

Oh, I almost forgot...she did see the Holocaust Museum, so I guess besides going to visit her best friend, there was some cultural novelty after all in the trip. OH well. Since Demelza now lives there, I suppose Michelle will be making many more trips to DC, and somewhere along the line, while walking to the next mall or night club, maybe she will just happen past the White House or the Capital Building or the Washington Monument or any those boring places that one can see just as well in a postcard.

I am just funnin with you Michelle, hope you don't get mad at this...Love Mom

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!