Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:26 a.m. - 2004-09-06
So Little Time

Stingy with my time

There just isn't enough time. I don't know how people with high pressure jobs and kids and multiple activities do it but I just don't have enough time. I could fill up my entire life simply with stuff that I have to do on my computer.

For instance, I have 3 new software programs to learn in order to start up my new business. I can learn just about anything that has to do with computers...but it takes me a while. I don't learn by reading instructions, I can only learn by poking around and playing so the learning curve is steep. I don't have the attention span for instructions...gotta get in there and play.

Then I have my handyman special house that still needs a hallway wall patched and painted, a bedroom, which I call the black hole, completely rehabbed and a kitchen that really needs complete gutting and rebuilding but due to financial restraints will have to settle for a coat of paint, new curtains and foo foos on the wall.

One good thing is since I killed my garden, I don't have much to do there...just cringe with embarrassment if someone should notice and comment on how my once pretty garden looks like the Munsters yard.

I had a nice 3 day weekend stretch in front of me and I was going to do nothing but learn the software and patch my hallway wall. Then yesterday came along and, Ring, Ring...the telephone rings, or should I say it plays "Fuer De Lis", phones don't ring any more. It is my cousin. Seems his parents, my Aunt and Uncle have come in unexpectedly and he is having a barbeque....in a few hours. Well, I didn't want to pass up a chance to see my relatives or be with my family so I accepted the invitation.

I settled back in to my computer chair. I figured that leaves me with a few hours to play with the Personal Author software and no sooner do I get it running than...KNOCK, KNOCK, KNOCK (At least an old fashioned knock on the door is still the same, we have yet to get a doorbell that plays "Feur De Lis"). I open it up and it is an old neighbor whom I havn't seen in a long while and she is crying and needs my shoulder. I grab my cigarettes and shoes and head out the door to sit at the "consoling table" for the next 2 hours.

The consoling table is my picnic table and when Margaret was my neighbor, we would spend much time at this table talking. Sometimes it was the "laughing table" or sometimes the "bitching table"....it was also the table that I taught her little girl English at just by talking to her. Margaret is from Poland and when she first became my neighbor, she spoke no English. Since there was only Polish spoken in her home, she would send her little one over to talk to me so she would get exposed to English. Margaret learned English watching Beverly Hills 90210 and her English lexicon contains words like "Awsome".....Anyway, it was so nice to see her, but again...there went my time...the time I needed to learn my software, so I can start my business, so I can become proficient at it and build a clientel and make enough money to support myself and dump Prince Michael and get my historic old house in the country and live happily ever after.

My hermits mind makes the following equation. Friends and Family = Interrupting my dream.

I think....My life would be progressing along just fine, but other people keep getting in the way!!!!.....I think again...I am sick.

Lord...Thank you for wonderful family and wonderful friends and the chances we get to be together. After all, what good will a historic home in the country do me if I have no one to share it with?

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!