Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:30 p.m. - 2006-11-19
Thanksgiving will happen after all

I think I can

Well, I think I'm over the flu. I still feel like crap but it is just the recovery from the damage the flu did to get over now.

Months ago, I promised to have Thanksgiving and for a while that didn't look like it would happen. I almost had to defer to my sister to have it with everything I have on my plate with Mike being an invalid and me being sick. Under normal circumstances, I would have just told her to have it and picked up Easter in it's stead but I simply HAD to have it this year becasue of my Mother in law.

I can't take her to my sisters house because she wouldn't be comfortable there and I couldn't just bring her to my house and fix her and Mike something and take off to be with my family because Mike wouldn't be able to take her back to the home. The only other alterntive was to leave her in the nursing home. I guess I do have a heart because as much as spending time with my Mother in law is on the top of my "least favorite things to do list", I simply couldn't bring myself to leave her in that depressing nursing home on a holiday. As it is, Mike can't visit because he can't drive yet and she is lonely.

I managed to get my house sufficiently cleaned to have company in four days and will do a little every night until the big day. I am not out to impress so I am not worried if the house if perfectly decorated ala Martha Stewart....I am not doing china, but chinette. I am not having an hors devours (is that how you spell it) hour.....and I am not going to try to impress anyone with my culinary talents or try out every new recipe I have collected over the year.

I will serve a simply, yet amply standard Thanksgiving menu in a clean home and that is more than I thought I would be able to do this week. I rock.

If I don't get a chance to get back to dland before the holiday....I want to wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!