Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1103245409 - 2004-12-16
Going for the Best I can be.

Doing What's Right For Me

This is my second posting for the day. If anybody is reading my entries for the first time today, you might want to go back and read what I posted earlier in the day.

My recruiter called me to tell me that they are prepared to make an offer....BUT....AND IT'S A BIG BIG BUTT....They only want to pay me 30,000.00 per year instead of 35,000.00 per year.

I was coached not to discuss salary...that the recruiter would do that for me. If asked what I was looking for to simply say, "I am comfortable with the range the agency discussed with me."

They said, "do not tell them your current salary."

I asked, "What if they ask? Am I supposed to say None of your business?"

The recruiter said "well, if they ask, you have to tell them."

Two things happened. They asked me what I am looking for and I told them that I was comfortable with the range I was quoted by the agency. The guy says, "Come on, give me a figure."

My only options were to give him a figure or tell him the agency said not to. I chose to give him a figure, and I quoted the range the agency gave me.

The next thing that happened was he asked how much I make now. I lied and told him 30,000.00 (I really make 24,000.00). Then he asked if I had insurance benefits. I told him no and didn't see any reason to lie on this one. My only other choice would have been to tell him "None of your business." I felt that would have looked bad and been rude.

They were willing to pay 35 to 40 Grand per year until they heard I made 30 with no insurance. They must have said...."We can get this one cheap."

OK, they are willing to match my salary and add the insurance and feel they are bringing me up. In reality...it is still more money than I was making at the last job.....but a whole lot less than they were originally willing to pay.

The recruiter pointed this out and suggested I take the job at the rock bottom amount I quoted her when I signed up with the agency, $15.00 per hour. After all, I would be getting my rock bottom price and insurance.

I told the recruiter to call them back and clarify the title and that I did not want to be called "Caretaker", that I wanted a proper corporate title that would be descriptive on my resume of my responsibilities. Caretaker sounds like I am going to be someones "Office Mom"....or "Office Wife".

Basically, the secretary in a one girl office is like the Wife/Mom at work. Men barking orders at you all day while you work your ass off and they make the big money.

Sorry....really don't want to do that kind of work anymore...for any amount of money....the attractive thing about this job was the opportunity to grow...and I really don't believe there will be much chance at that. Red flags are going up all over the place. Right off the bat they are being cheap....on top of that the owner and the manager have two different views of what "growth" means. I get the impression that the owner would have no problem promoting a women into managment...but the impression I get of the general manager is that he is a "Good Ol Boy".....I already work for a bunch of Good Ol Boys and they aint gonna let the women folk have any of the goodies.

I suppose the recruiter will call back tomorrow with clarification of title and growth potential.....After much struggling in my brain I have decided to accept the position only if the title is Office Manager, and they pay me $35,000.00 per year. That is what the job pays and just because I was making less should have no burden on what they pay me. I am either right for the job or not...Pick one.

Ultimately, I may end up taking less money from another company, but I thought I made it clear to my recruiter that I do not want to be a secretary or General Office person anymore. I want to be a full charge bookeeper or an Accounts receivable clerk.....I love accounting and that is what I want. If I can get a position in accounting or bookkeeping and then go back to school for my batchelors degree, I can move myself ahead.

This job, with no chance for real advancement and paying less than they originally planned to is nothing but one of those jobs where you waste away and make the small change working your ass off for the people who make the gravy. I want some gravy.

All my life, I have taken what comes easy....thankful that anybody would want to hire me for any money and you know what....I always get the lo quality crap.....I am not lowering myself for money or anything else.

I stay at my jobs for long periods of time 12 to 13 years or more. I am not looking for a stepping stone at my age....I am looking for opportunity and I want to make what they are willing to pay....not be hired because they think they can get me cheap.

I want to thank all of you for you input on this. I am going to take the advice of Catinasnit and follow my heart. She said in her note that if you have to talk yourself into something, it is probably not right for you and after thinking that through, I do believe she is right. Everytime in the past when I have talked myself into something it was the wrong move.

With that, I am going to take some solace in what my sister told me. She wisely said, "Paula, this is the first job you interviewed for and they offered it to you...what makes you think there isn't another one....the right one waiting out there for you."

She is right....It isn't like I have been looking for ages for a job and am getting hard up....I am fresh out of the gate and already someone wants me....I think that shows my worth. I am going to be like my buddy, "buckaroobabe" and go for the place that "deserves" me.

With that, I am going off to my AA meeting where I will hash this out with my fellow Ex drunks and then come home and watch the final episode of the Apprentice.

Thanks again for all your notes...I really did appreciate and read and ponder each one of them.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!