Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:34 p.m. - 2004-12-16
Second Interview

Choices...Choices

I went on the second interview today. I was twice as nervous because the instructions were that I was to meet with 3 new people at the facility I would be working in.

I will not be working directly for the owner who interviewed me last time, but for the Sales Manager. He was nice enough, but the chemistry between me and the owner were better.

The owner described the job as having the Title of "Office Manager". For now I would be doing pretty much what I have been doing for the past 12 years...general office and bookkeeping duties in a one girl office. What attracted me to the job was that he planned on having this company grow 10 fold in the next 5 years, whereby they would be hiring additional office staff who would then be reporting to me. I took this as an opportunity to grow into a managment position, be able to delegate the mundane tasks of answering the phone, typing and filing to my staff, leaving me to concentrate on the growing accounting and bookkeeping functions and managing the office. Along with this increased responsibility would be increased salary...more than cost of living raises...a chance to really achieve some financial gain.

Today, I met with the Sales and Operations Manager, whom I would be reporting to. This is the man who would be my boss. His story is quite different from the owners story.

According to the guy I would be working for. He wouldn't call the position Office Manager or Bookeeper because it is not a managment position and because the Bookeeping aspect of it would only be part of the job. He wants to title the job "Caretaker". In other words...He wants a female take care of all the office functions. I said "Then this is just a General Office position, right?"

He said, "Yes".

I then told him that Brian wanted to title the position Office Manager because his intentions were to have me grow into a managerial position which oversees a small staff of office workers in about 5 years or so, once the 10 fold growth he planned was reached. I said that Brian told me that any office personnel that were hired because of growth would report to me.

Joe, the guy who I would be working for, sort of screwed his face up and shook his head. "I can't see this ever growing into a management position."

"So I would basically be a general office worker for as long as I work here no matter what the growth, with the title "Caretaker"? I asked

He nodded his head affirming.

Now...this job pays 300.00 more per week than I am making now and is much closer to home. It has a nice insurance policy and profit sharing if I stay long enough with the company. The dress is business casual...no monkey suit...no pantyhose...no high heels. The office is nice and clean...as a matter of fact it is new....very pleasant environment...without being posh (I don't fit well in Posh). It has nice people....the money is good and the benefits are adequate......the one thing wrong is according to the guy who I would be working for.....

THERE IS NO CHANCE FOR ANY PERSONAL ADVANCEMENT OR GROWTH.

All he could tell me now is that the company is growing and the opportunities are good for the company.

Now....if offered the position...should I take this job based on the wonderful salary and the other nice things about it and HOPE that the company grows in a manner in which I would be given more responsibility? OR

Should I turn it down and go back to the agency and tell them that I am ONLY interested in accounting positions.

I have a history of making bad decisions for myself....If I grab the money just grateful that someone hired me and is willing to pay me more....am I short changing myself by going with work I don't enjoy?

Was the owner correct?.....Will I be offered more responsibility if the growth he is projecting is achieved? Could it be that the owner can see farther into the future than the manager is willing to look right now? The manager said that before there would be any more office staff, he would hire more engineers....then of all things..he started asking about my husband and what he did.

When I told him that my husband was laid off after 30 years as an Assistant Production Engineer and had an Auto Cad certificate, he asked me more and more questions about him...said he sounded perfect for the Production manager job he was thinking about instating. He made notes about my husband all over my resume.?

Could this be Gods funny way of getting my husband employed. Maybe I won't be offered the job but they will want to see him.

What if they offer us both a job....If I work with him....I'm stuck with him for life....how could I divorce someone I work with, without one or the other losing their job and bringing all the ugliness into the office.

These are all thoughts running through my head right now. The job has not been offered to me yet.....no one has called my husband to offer him one from there either....One day at a time....One day at a time.

I don't know...what if the job is offered...Do I accept it on the basis that it Might become something better just because it pays more money?

Do I stay on that high horse I have put myself on and turn it down because it is not all that I want?

Sitting on a high horse has never been a good thing for me....I usually fall off into the mud. Here comes that saying of my mothers again....waltzing...lilting through my brain...."Pride Goeth Before the Fall."

I'm gonna just go paint the kitchen and forget about it....that is something I can control.

P. I. Yarnmsith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!