Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 p.m. - 2005-06-30
Can I borrow a cup of sugar?

A Good Move...A Good Neighborhood

Today we closed on our new home. We were homeless for 3 days and if something hincky happened today, we would be panicking...however it was a smooth closing...barely an hour long.

We started with a walk-through at 9AM. We were greeted by a spotless home, fresh baked cookies on the counter and a note that said "Welcome Home." I almost cried. This is a lovely home that was well cared for by lovely people.

They moved only 8 blocks away so I am sure we will see them again. During lulls in the closing while waiting for paperwork to come through, we talked and they told us what they could about the neighborhood. The subject of keys came up.

"We don't even use keys" said Allison. "No one in the neighborhood locks their doors. It is a pretty close knit neighborhood and everyone sort of watches out for each other. We are in and out of each others homes all the time."

She went on to tell a story of how she went next door to borrow some soy sauce and the neighbor told her that she had lent it to the other neighbor. When Allison went to the other neighbor to borrow the first neighbor's soy sauce, the 2nd neighbor said the 1st neighbor told her to return it to Allison as it had originally been her soy sauce someone else had borrowed.

Sounds like a pretty homey place.

You know how when you make a big move you are always doubting yourself???

I am no longer doubting myself. This will be a good move. We will be happy here.

The couple went on to tell us about the 900 year old neighbors across the street who know everybody's business. They said they don't bring your business up to you or anyone else, but will tell you what color cars have come and gone and what hours they came and went and will let you know if anything suspicious occurs. I am sure, being new, we will be watched...that's OK.

After the closing, I went in to work and Mike took his Mom to see the house. She loves her room and then got concerned when she saw there wasn't room for the TV.

"Will I have to go down in the basement to watch TV?" she said

"No, you can watch it in the living room." Mike replied.

"You mean I'm gonna be allowed in the living room?" she asked

"No Ma", Mike answered sarcastically, "You have to stay in your room all day long." She laughed a relieved laugh. Seems her sister, Les, is somewhat confined to her room, living with her Daughter and Son in Law. Apparently they make her stay in her room all day and I think that is what my Mother In Law thought happened to you when you get too old to live on your own. I guess she figured we were gonna "store her" in the back room like old furniture. I told Mike to make sure she knows that it is home for the 3 of us and that we arn't gonna throw her in a room in the back of the house and treat her like some kind of animal.

Now she is excited.

The buyers of our current house...or I should say "their" house...can't get inside to rehab this place until we leave so they have been gardening. It feels creepy to be inside while someone works right outside your window. Tonight they came over at 9:00 PM and said they were gonna plant something in the garden and not to be alarmed if we heard something in the garden. All of a sudden, our living room lit up like Las Vegas....they brought flood lights over to help them garden in the dark.

I understand their need to get started. They are paying a mortgage and can't get in to rehab the place yet so they are starting on the outside. But it sure feels creepy...I guess we still think of this place as OURS.

I looked sadly and felt a bit of ire creep into me as I watched her rip my Hostas out by the roots and yank the Irises out like they were weeds. They hacked down my rose bush and sort of "sterilized" my cottage garden look. I wanted to go and gather my plant babies up in my arms and save them...but alas...I have no where to put them and no time on my hands for gardening.

I did ask her not to rip out the Japanese Irises I got from my Grandmother and the Sedum I took from my Mothers yard. I will dig those two plants up and take them with me...they are heirlooms.

I do feel bad about my lillies and my cabbage rose that the birds like to snip peices off of to get moisture during the dry season. I know she will dig up my daffodils, of which I am sure I have about 100. However, my new yard is full of things I don't have and there is no room to take it all.

This old house of ours has seen many pieces of our lives. I will miss the memories...but I will not miss the house.

For now...I am looking ahead to the homey, old neighborhood I have always dreamed of. A town that has a 4th of July parade and a rich history that goes way back into the 19th century. A neighborhood that has deep roots and lovely neighbors who borrow each others soy sauce.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!