Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:51 p.m. - 2005-05-25
Have I hit the ground yet???

Comin Down From A High

Since last Saturday, I have been on a "House High". We found the little cutie I posted pictures of and although deep in my heart, I knew...I KNEW....(I knew) it wouldn't last more than a week on the market, I still hoped.

I have always been a "Glass half full person"....which can be nice, but usually sets me up for a fall. When job hunting, I imagine getting the top salary, when I always get the lowest, and now in finding out what my home is worth, I was hoping for one figure only to find out that it is worth much lower than I expected.

Today....after hoping, praying, planning and looking through very very rosy colored glasses, my bubble burst.

It started with the news that my little cutie house had sold, in only 5 days on the market with no contingencies. It's gone...not even a glimmer of a hope that the deal won't go through.

The second let down was finding out my house was worth about 10,000.00 less than I had figured and to get much more out of it would cost 15,000.00 worth of rehabbing, several months of living with the rehabbing then the endless parade of people you need to keep it clean to show it to.

Our best bet would be to have the work done, stay in the house a couple of years until the prices go up and then sell, but by then the buyers market would have discovered Elgin's "diamond in the rough" and the prices there would go up exponentially.

The thing to do is sell it as is....NOW...and buy a home in Elgin...Now...although that means a bit less of a home in Elgin than I had gotten my hopes up for. As a matter of fact, we could probably have not afforded the cute little house anyway.

After looking at higher and higher priced homes, I am now forced to look for something a little less nice....or perhaps another "handy man special"....I am tired of working on a house.

My saving grace is going to be that my neighbors buy the place....If they buy it for what I hope to get for it at this point, then I will be spared the endless parade of investors who will most likely want to give me peanuts for the place. As a matter of fact, I would be better off selling to my neighbors for peanuts that having to keep this place spotless for a parade of gawkers.

I am tired of houses....I am tired getting this place ready...I am tired of cleaning and packing....I am tired of wishing and hoping.

I am going to West Virginia this weekend to see my Aunt with my sister and put some closure on my Grandma's passing. One thing good about coming back down to Earth.....I will be able to enjoy my trip.

Wellsburg...here I come.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!