Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:16 p.m. - 2005-05-23
Is this my home sweet home????

Dream House Found

...

or at least the dream house we can afford.

Well, I think we found her....or at least my husband found her.

"I've got to have this house." he wispered as we climbed into the car after the viewing

We went for a drive by of 4 other houses after that. One had an open house. He didn't want to go in....no other house in Elgin Illinois will do now that he has seen this clean little beauty.

I have to admit....I love it. We could move right in and not do a thing. It is "brand new clean" and has everything my huband wants in a house (particularly no work to do once we move in) and almost everything I want.

I say almost, because the one thing that my dream house had to have was a formal dining room....a large formal dining room......one that could hold a 7 or 8 foot long x 4 foot wide, thick, substantial, behemouth dining table. Like the ones they have in castles. Now I know it will be me, hubby and Mom in this house, but I want a giant dining room table and a giant dining room to put it in.

Another drawback to this house for me is that it is carpeted througout and I have no idea as to the condition of the floors below. I wanted hardwood floor, and although I wouldn't mind refinishing existing ones....can they be refinished?, or are they too far gone. The dining room and kitchen have Pergo and I hate Pergo....you might as well have a plastic floor as far as I'm concerned. Pergo does NOT look anything like wood and if you drop a jar or can on it...which will happen in my household, it dents.

But all in all.....this house is sweet...very sweet. What it has much more than makes up for what it don't. Take a look for yourself. It won't last though and we will not find out until mid next week, whether we have a deal with the neighbor or not.....so dreaming and going back and forth on this house may be a moot point.

However......if it does anything....it certainly sets the standard for what kind of house we want and will or will not accept. I am afraid after seeing this one, that no other house will compare. It is truley in wonderful shape and lovingly cared for by the nice Apostolic Christian family with 5 little kids and no TV set that are selling it. The house is sunny and feels happy. Heck, I wouldn't even need to plant flowers. It looks professionally landscaped...and the neighborhood?....well all the other yards look equally as nice.

The pictures don't do it justice. I haphazardly took photos and screwed some of the inside shots up....but you can get an idea. There is an upstairs Master bedroom suite with a walk in Closet/dressing room and a little trap door that leads to attic space...a little secret munchkin room to stash stuff. There is a nursery on the top floor too, 11 x 7, and a big landing...big enough to put furniture on. There is a dressing table vanity and a shower. I called dibs on the big bedroom....Mike will plunk a bed in the nursery and we will share the closet. Mom will get one of the two huge downstairs bedrooms and the other will be our Office/Librayr.

The basement is completely finished with many huge.....HUGE...rooms to work and play in. There is a big work room with a huge workbench, a storage room with great big wall to wall, floor to ceiling shelving. There is a giant laundry room where there is a hook up for a 2nd stove and room for a freezer and clothes rack, folding table....the whole nine yards. There is a bathroom with a shower and an extra room, which used to be the coal room back in the coal furnace days. It will be my Hot tub/spa room. Then there is a huge main section which we will use as our home theater....NO MORE GIANT TV SET RUINING MY LIVING ROOM....DID YOU HEAR ME....NO MORE GIANT TV SET RUINING MY LIVING ROOM!!!! YAY!!!.

The kitchen is way too tiny,,,,but what the heck...we have all that storage in the basemnet. It has a RED....hear me again...RED...ceramic ceiling....it is beautiful. It has red and white painted cabinets. CUTE CUTE CUTE.

And it has a fire place....a little one and the shiney, ugly brass front will have to go....but that's no problem.

Well, I've talked enough....take a look for yourself.

Front of house

Driveway and garage


Backyard

More backyard

Again!!!


Behind the beautiful brick garage

Mike on the screened in porch...I couldn't get him outta there

Living-dining room....the only sore spot

cute cute cute!!!!


The landing of the Queen's Suite



The Queen's chamber


The Queen's dressing room


The Queen's Bath or um...shower


The King's bedroom.....hey...the one who earns the bread gets the better bed!!!


This may all well go down the drain but we hve our fingers crossed. Now we just need to wish and hope the neighbors weren't just talking through their hats. If so, we are back to much renovation on the cracker box and about 2 months before we can buy a home...this baby will be gone in a flash.

P. I. Yarnsmith.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!