Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:37 p.m. - 2005-06-01
It was a great trip and now........

The Waiting Game

Hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day. Sissy, nephew Joe and I had a wonderful trip to Wellsburg to see our Aunt Edie. Boy did we eat. Aunt Edie is an excellent cook and she pampered us with homemade lasgna, apple dumplings and a real breakfast with real eggs and real ham and real buttered raisin toast.

We went to the cemetary to see Granny's grave, then for lunch at Mellman's, a really great cafeteria style restaurant. We bummed around all day, getting in a visit to my favorite pottery, Homer-Laughlin China Company in Newell, West Virginia, home of Fiesta Ware, where I like to dig around in their back room where they have factory seconds. This trip I bought a cobalt blue deviled egg plate, which I really need seeing how I never make deviled eggs, but,hey, I didn't have one yet.

Linda and I really crack each other up and pretty much laughed all the way home. Joe was good as gold, the whole trip. I have the ability to make my sister laugh or piss her off depending on the mood I am in.

Remember that Seinfeld episode where Kramer kept urging the salesman at a car dealership to keep driving even though the demo car was on empty??? Well Linda and I did that with her SUV. Boy was that exhilrating. She usually gets gas before we hit Indianapolis but I urged her to explore her wild side and go for it. By the time we did find gas on the other side of Indy, we were on fumes. I hope this will encourage Linda to take risks more often.

Tuesday, it is back to the grind and I must say, I am exhausted. Before this trip I had worked my self up over this house thing and now we are playing the waiting game. The neighbors were supposed to get back to us last night on whether they are going to buy our house or not. They didn't get home until way after we had put on our PJ's.

Starting tomorrow, I will get quotes from various places to see what it will cost to get our place fixed up. I am not waiting on them and I am not going to beg them or look at all anxious for them to buy it. Although I want them to more than anything in the world, I will not appear anxious and give them a reason to offer less than it is worth.

I just wish we could get on with the house hunting.

Until then I will simply put one foot in front of the other and move on to the next thing.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!