Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:42 p.m. - 2004-06-01
The \"I Rented The Stupidest Movie Award\"
Well I guess I get the "I rented the stupidist movie award".

I went to Blockbuster, because I had a 2 for 1 coupon. Gothika, was my first choice, but I didn't have a second movie in mind, so I figured that I would just browse and see what looked good. There I was, minding my own business, browsing the great wall of DVD's, when this guy comes up behind me, and he's talking on a cell phone.

For some reason people talking on cell phones in stores are my biggest pet peeve. They are oblivious to the rest of the world, and must think that everyone else in the store wants to hear their enlightening conversation. Anyway, he was standing behind me talking to whomever he was going to watch a DVD with later that night and asking their opinion. He would say, "No, you wouldn't like that one, how about a thriller, do you like thriller's?" I imagined the person on the other end going "WAH WAH WAH WAH WAH WAH" like the adults in the Charlie Brown shows.

I found myself listening to what this guy was saying instead of looking for my own DVD, so I moved way, way down the great wall of DVD's and put some distance between him and me. Darned if he didn't come on down and stand behind me again, looking over my shoulder at the same DVD's I was looking at, and he continued to tell the person on the other end of the cel phone what he or she wouldn't be interested in, while trying to impress them with his knowlege of what was good or bad in a movie.

I was getting more annoyed and moved to another section. A minute later here comes Mr. Cellular down to the area I had moved to and again, stood behind me looking over my shoulder and now he started to pace back and forth. Men who pace are my second greatest pet peeve.

Now he was really pissing me off and I couldn't figure out why he insisted on always looking at the same DVD's I was looking at. This guy was quite a bit younger than me and I don't have a great looking ass, so I ruled out sexual attraction. All I could think of is that maybe he was a new cel phone user who had this need to show off that he too could now join the ranks of annoying jerks who irritate people by havng loud conversations on cel phones in public places. It's like bragging "Hey, I'm hip, I'm cool, I have a cel phone and I see you don't". I have news for him. The homeless man who lives in the woods at the end of our street, has a cel phone. Those of us who don't (yes, I am one of phoneless) don't have one by choice, preferring to be left alone with our sick thoughts rather than share them with someone else, while irritating perfect strangers in video stores. But I digress.

His having moved into my personal space three times, a talkin and a pacing, had me ready to rip the cell phone out of his hands, stick a DVD into them and the cell phone up his butt and yell, "GET OUT....GET OUT."

Instead, I retained my sanity and quickly grabbed a DVD. Turns out, it was "Gods and Generals", the sequel to "Gettysburg". I thought, "Oh, this should be good."

We enjoyed Gothika and then started in on our freebee. For those of you who have yet to see this movie, I will save you $3.99. It was a string of soliliquays, prayers, and quotations of the kind of boring literature that people pretend to like because it makes them look smart, interspersed with bloody battle scenes, all of which looked the same.

I always finish what I start and was nodding off, fighting to stay awake, when the DVD finally ended. Before I could say "Thank God that's over", the words on the screen said, "Insert the 2nd DVD for part 2". I thought, my God, part 2? It had already run 2 hours and as it turned out there was another 1 1/2 hours to go.

Call me a glutton for punishment, but because I am cheap and like to get my money's worth and partly because I am nut's and because I like to always finish what I start, I sat through the rest of the movie the next night. Part 2 was just as boring as Part 1.

My daughter just signed up for Net Flix, the service that lets you order DVD's by mail, through the internet, and because I am cheap, and she makes more money than I do, I will just watch the movies she gets before she returns them and save the $3.99 and I can blame her if the movie sucks.

Hope your next movie rental is a good one.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!