Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:41 p.m. - 2004-06-02
Meet Jesus (Jesus Gonzales that is)
Today, I would like to introduce you to another member of our staff here at Midtown Pallet.

Folks, meet Jesus Gonzales. At least he is Jesus Gonzales as far as we know, but when he is applying for a loan or a mortgage, and a representative from the loan company is calling for employment info, he answers to Orlando Cortez, yet the guys in the back all call him Noe. I have learned not to ask questions.

Jesus is my friend. He is my liason between our English speaking office and our Spanish speaking shop staff. He works hard and I am in awe of his ability to switch back and forth between English and Espaniol without missing a beat.

I have known Jesus since 2 days after he arrived in this country and started work as one of our warehouse laborers at the young age of 19, deeply tanned from the hot Mexican sun. I have watched him mature into a husband and father of two, who has thoroughly asimilated into American society. He has a couple of side businesses, and is a landlord who owns two buildings. He named his children Brian and Brittany. (Can�t get much more American than Brian and Brittany Gonzalez.)

Jesus is also my Spanish teacher. He speaks to me in Espaniol and then tells me what he said in English. I have learned a number of phrases and words like �Un tarjeta, por favor� (one time card, please), and �Cinco pistolas para manana, por favor� (5 guns (nail guns) for tomorrow, please). I have learned that when you drink the liqueor, �Tia Maria�, you are really drinking �Aunt Mary�, you know, phrases you can always use. Yesterday, co-worker Dan shaved his head. I learned that Dan is now �Pelone� (bald).

Just the other day, I read a newspaper article that predicted the U.S. Population would be over 50% Hispanic by 2050.

This past Memorial Day weekend, Jesus told me that he was going to visit family in Iowa. When I think of Iowa, my mind conjures up a picture of artist,Grant Wood�s, �American Gothic". I said to Jesus, �There aint no Mexicans in Iowa".

Jesus leaned close to me and shifted his eyes, acting like he was making sure no one else was listening, and whispered, �We're Everywhere.�

BUENOS NOCHES AMIGOS.

P. I. YARNSMITH

NOTE: IF YOU ARE READING THIS AND IT JUST DON'T MAKE SENSE OR LOOK RIGHT..SOMETHING IS WRONG. IT IS TYPED INTO THE WINDOW CORRECTLY BUT SOME HOW GETS SCREWED UP BETWEEN ENTERING AND DISPLAYING. SORRY.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!