Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:24 a.m. - 2005-01-01
Starting 2005 In The Pink

Score

I am not normally a good shopper. I am not one of those who finds that "real steal". I am never in the right place at the right time and if I am it is never in my size. But yesterday, I had another omen that it will be a good year.

Even though I don't have to dress up for my new job (although to me dressing up is a pair of Khacki pants and a sweater set)...I do have to dress nicer than I did at Midtown which was "beyond casual" attire. I decided yesterday to dress nicer than I have to at the new job just because it looks better. I probably have enough casual "non blue jean" pants and sweaters to wear now but I wasn't satisfied with the way they looked, especially to start my new job with. So....I ended 2004 with another shopping trip. (I think I may have created a monster).

Many postings back, I wrote about finding a pink necklace I liked and getting a windfall 265.00 refund from an overpayment in the mail. I said I was going to go and buy myself that necklace and a pink outfit to go with it. I had my mind wrapped around this really cute pink tweed jacket I saw and I never did go get it. Good thing I didn't.

Yesterday, when I went back into that store, there was only one of those Pink Tweed jackets left. It was one size too big for me. I tried it on anyway. It ran small and was a perfect fit. It was not only a perfect fit...it was a perfect cut for me. It was made for me. It even made me look thin (I'm such a liar)....ok..well nothing can do that but it made me look less large...it looked Fabulous Dahling.

I looked at the price tag....The $75.00 tag was crossed off and written in was 67.50...that's 10 percent less. I looked up on the rack and a sign said, "Take 40% off of marked price." That brought the price down to $ 40.50...but it gets better. I remembered that I had purchased a card at that store long ago that entitles me to 10% off anything I buy there. That brought it down another $ 4.05 to $ 36.45.

That brings the grand total of a perfect fitting, perfect color, perfect everything jacket to 50% off the original price. HOW COOL IS THAT?

This is indeed an omen. The pink necklace I had my eye on was gone but there was a better one...so I bought that too.

Is finding the perfect pink tweed jacket an omen of good things to come? It is if I believe it is. OK..so call me gullible. I am starting this year...In The Pink!!!

And it can't get much better than that.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!