Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:19 p.m. - 2004-09-30
Debate

Watchin the Debates

Tonight I'm gonna watch the debate. That's right. Come 8:00 PM Central time, I'll be all comfy in my jammies with my little "Republican" pennant in my left hand and the popcorn at my side. The right hand will be free to switch to another channel when one of those big mouth commentators decides to talk over something important.

I am a bit displeased that the show will be sanitized this time around though. Gotta make sure the temp is under 70 degrees so that Kerry's fake orange tan won't run off onto his clean white shirt. Everybody has to stay in their places so we won't get to see Bush's reaction to a large Herman Munster like form rushing up on him....Oh, Wait, that was the Amazing Algore that did that last time....Ok, Ok...I'll stop being "mean spirited". While one candidate speaks they won't be able to show the eye rolling the other candidate will do. I don't like the new rules. I think a debate should be raw and opened....unstructured..to be able to get the full intellectual and emotional measure of a man.

Tomorrow all the Kerry lovers will say that Kerry won. All the Bush lovers will say that Bush won. Dan and I get along beautifully at work in every way but we are forbidden to swerve into politics when talking. I told Dan that tomorrow he could proclaim Kerry the winner and I won't roll my eyes, but he'd better let me declare Bush the winner and not roll his. After that we will both have to go into our seperate "time out chairs" for 5 minutes and get it out of our systems so we don't stray into further discussion and the yelling match that will ensue.

Isn't this all just so silly?

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!