Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 p.m. - 2004-07-02
4th of July Poem
I hope everyone has a great 4th of July weekend. I am going to post a poem I wrote for the 4th of July today, just in case I don't get to posting for a day or so.

TRIBUTE TO THE 4TH OF JULY

On a day in Midsummer,

When shadows are long

And the purple vetch covers the hill,

When the chickory grows by the roadside

And Queen Anne's lace fills the fields,

My senses are filled

With the sights and the sounds

And the joy of the 4th of July.

A pretty front porch hung with bunting,

American flags flying high.

We'll go down to the park

And wait until dark

On a big comfy blanket we'll lie,

Watching rockets red glare,

And bombs bursting in air

On a lawn underneath spacious skies.

So let freedom ring

Through the mountains and plains.

Let the light shine from Liberty's hand

Join hearts with our sisters & brothers

And thank the Good Lord for this land.

HAVE A ROOTIN TOOTIN...BLOW IT ALL OUT...FUN FUN FUN 4TH OF JULY!!!

GOD BLESS AMERICA!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!