Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:17 p.m. - 2004-12-29
Seething with resentment

Catch Up

OK...I'm grabbing a bit of time to post here. In my second to last post, I explained the mystery invitation...and I am sure that everyone knows about Grandma so I will get of of that subject. Let's see, what did I leave out.....mmmmm...all these days are running into each other...where shall I start.

I have one more day at Midtown Pallet. One more day of Chander. I left work last Thursday full of resentment. I don't know if I mentioned that on the Monday before Christmas, Chander gave me a bottle of sparkling apple juice and a set of 4 real pretty Christmas mugs. I felt bad that I didn't like him. At this time though I was also expecting my usual Christmas Bonus of $300.00. The old owner gave me a 2500.00 bonus for helping him sell the company and staying on for a year after that. He didn't have to do that and it was very nice of him, however that was between him and I and had nothing to do with Chander.

The day before Christmas Eve came and went and when it was time to walk out the door, I got my regular paycheck....no bonus. Found out that only the guys in the back and the truck drivers got bonuses because he figured the old owner took care of us office folk....like I said though, that bonus from old owner was between us. We did a tremendous amount of work for him and I guess he felt he owed it to us.

Despite that fact that I have been blessed with a new job making over 12,000.00 per year more plus insurance. Despite the fact that I was given a 2500.00 tax free windfall which will buy my new carpeting, floors and countertop and despite the wonderful approaching Christmas season that I was about to share with my WONDERFUL family.....I was seething with resentment of this 300.00 bonus.

I had so much to do in prep for Christmas Eve that I almost blew off AA....however, blowing off AA is not an option for a recovering alcoholic who is seething with resentment over a measly 300.00. So off to AA I went and I came home unresentful and counting my blessings again.

Chander's cheapassness has made me all the more grateful that I am leaving. As I write this I am laughing my head off because my guts in going out and getting a new job has activated Dan and Larry....they are now looking in earnest too. With all of us "pallet experts" gone....his business will be pure hell and likely turn to mush.

No one person is so important that they can't be replaced....but if his whole management staff leaves at once...this guy....who has never taken the time to really learn this complicated business is in trouble. I only wish I were a fly on the wall so I could witness the destruction first hand.

OK...maybe I lied a few paragraphs up....I am still resentful....evily...delightfully.....hoping this cheapassjerk fails miserably and realizes that it is because of his cheapassness that did it.

Only 8 more hours to go before I am done with him and looking forward to a real job instead of this half live thing.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!