Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:19 a.m. - 2005-09-05
The Transformation of my yard begins

Something hit my yard and it wasn't Katrina

The photos below show the work that has been started on my yard in the last two weeks.

Last Sunday, my Nephew, Sam and his buddy Bob and my Husband Mike took down the tree house. What was left is a pile of wolmanized lumber which we will have to pay someone to haul off as we can't burn it and with everything else that needs to be done in this yard, chopping it down to 4 ft pieces, bundling it, hauling it to the curb and putting a $2.50 sticker on each bundle just wouldn't pay.

The boys had a ball and I think all this work is envigorating Mike. He is losing some weight. It was nice to see two young men who know their way around tools and both of them went at it like pros.

Sam is just learning to drive and drove my car out to get him, left it at my Sister's house then Sam drove me and Bob back to my house for practice. He needs 25 hours practice before he gets his license and I must say, the kid can drive. There wasn't a single nervous moment in the entire round trip.

OK, I'm gonna start this photo essay with two pictures of my yard from the day we first saw the house. The pile of rotting debris the old owners left us was successufully hidden and the drought hadn't hit so everthing is lush and green and the lawn, which has since been taken over by creeping Charlie, still alive.

Here is a week ago sunday on Treehouse demolition day.

Looky Linda...Sam is actually smiling for a photo. (This is a rare photo of Sam in something other than a black T shirt, black jeans and a smile on his face.) To be fair...Sam smiles alot, but getting a photo with a smile is what is rare.

The old fart is Mike, Bob is the one holding a sledge hammer and Sam is the one on the right.

The Work Begins

Almost done

Just about there

OK, that was last Sunday. Yesterday, was Michelle's birthday. She was going to grace our presence with a couple hour visit for dinner with her boyfriend, Manny (who was the mortgage wizard responsible for getting me qualified for this house).

I was telling my sister how depressed I was over all the work needed to transform my yard into what I want it to be and the sinking addition and possible regrading of my entire property and that I just didn't know where to start. She volunteered her Husband and youngest Son and herself to come over and help out. I suggested Sunday as I could make dinner for everyone and we could get a B-Day cake and celebrate Michelle's birthday all together.

Mike's cousin Lori and her partner, Amy, stopped by for an hour in the middle of the landscaping to see the house then left.

We chopped down several trees, partially rendered them into firewood (the rest must be rendered today) and wiped out a huge raspberry patch and dug up a bush. We burned as much of the dry branches as we could, then got in trouble with my neighbor who doesn't mind an evening fire in our fire pit (which he reminded us was illegal) but pretty much let us know that he was not going to tolerate burning of yard waste. (He is really a nice guy...and has been very neighborly and helpful to us,he's just the type to let you know right off what he will and will not tolerate and I guess I can appreciate that. Better than having resentments build up.)

My Brother In Law, Don was, as usual, a great help. The family arrived in their pickup truck full of whatever yard implements one would need to do anything to a yard and they looked like one of those TV crews that come and renovate your yard in a day. He is so knowledgeable on how to do just about anything, is physically fit and always willing and ready to help. I can't count the number of times my Sister and Don have helped me out.

I wish I could have gotten before and after pics of what we did yesterday, but I was more physically involved in yesterday's destruction and cooking for 10 people so I blew off taking pictures. I sure wish I would have...the tree felling was spectacular and the fire FA-LAMING.

Anyway, below is what I woke up to this morning and what I have waiting for me when I get downstairs.

THE MORNING AFTER

Both photos taken from my upstairs bedroom.

The event really did turn into a party. My sister and I were talking and she says, "Aunt Joanne and Uncle Carl are supposed to be coming into town sometime this week, they will want to see your place."

No sooner did she say that than the phone rings and guess who it is....Aunt Jo and Uncle Carl.....so they come out and I had enough food for an army and they got to see the whole family together, see my house and meet Manny. Our day of demolition became a real party after all.

Fun was had by all....then again, I don't ever remember a time when I didnt' have a ball with my family.

Well, I got me some tree chopping to do...that is how I will spend my Labor Day....In heavy Labor..Oh, my aching back. Think of me while you are at your backyard barbeque.

P.I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!