Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 p.m. - 2005-08-31
Let the fun begin

It was a nice fantasy, but now it's time to pay

I should be ashamed of myself. There are dead people floating in Louisiana and Mississippi and the living ones have no where to go and nothing to eat and what crosses my mind?

HOW IS THIS GOING TO AFFECT ME, YARNSMITH!

I had a panic attack today that was set in motion by driving past the gas station on the way home and seeing the price at $ 3.14 per gallon. "Ka Ching".

At the same time the talk radio show was going on and on about how it was going to go much much higher and get rationed. And here I made a move 35 miles from work."Ka Ching"

The show went on to discuss the poor people who are in the middle of the chaos and hell left by Katrina and I was getting quite bummed.

This was all layered on some news we received that our addition is sinking or leaning or both and that repairs in the order of 8 to 10 thousand dollars are likely needed. "Ka Ching"

The Insurance company called to tell us we had to have two giant limbs trimmed from the black walnut tree whose branches are scraping the house "Ka Ching",and our yard needs to be completely regraded because it is too high and water is most likely getting into the foundation boards due to contact with wet earth, which is most likely what is causing our leaning room. (did you hear that Ka Ching" again?

Despite doing my homework and buying carefully, having home inspectors look at the house before purchase and all, I seem to have bought a house that needs major work anyway. The money for the rooftop deck and new dining room set and beautiful area rugs, will now go to shore up my back room and scrape all my grass off where it will be replaced with that funny ugly green mesh stuff that covers newly seeded lawns.

To top it all off, my brand new Char Broil Gas grill caught on fire tonight and burned the knobs off of it. There is a melted mass where the on/off knobs once were. Oh, I didn't mention, I lost the receipt. (Ka Ching).

We dissassembles the tree house and the un burnable, wolmanized wood is laying all over our back yard and needs to be cut down where we will then bundle it up and attach stickers to it at 2.50 a pop so the garbage men will haul it away. (Ka Ching!!!) Still, despite my bitching and moaning, I am about to go to sleep in a clean, soft bed in a home that is not under water on a full tummy of yummy food that may not have been cooked on a CharBroil Gas Grill, but it was cooked none the less, not rotting and tasted halfway decent.

That is more than I can say for some folks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!