Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 a.m. - 2005-08-20
Hoity Toity is just Hoity Toity and Nothing More.

Random thoughts on Psyciatrists, Husbands and Big Important People.

This week was horrible. My job is stressful under normal conditions but this week, due to many varities was THE WEEK FROM HELL!!! One of the varities was that I got sick AGAIN. I have sick days to take, but the absence of one day would make the subsequent days that much more stressful, so I plowed ahead and just went to work. The other varity was a visit from a man from General Electric.

This big important honcho was coming on Thursday to evaluate our company as a potential supplier. What that means, I don't know and I wasn't clued in on the details nor asked to be part of this BIG IMPORTANT MEETING.

We had visitors from our parent company come in and a sales rep from Wisconsin came down. We were all briefed on how this was a BIG IMPORTANT GUY and how EVERYTHING had to be JUST SO. We were all to dress up and put our best faces forward. Our little 10 person company was flush with tension and excitement.

The big day arrived...The hour was upon us....the guy was late. The tension continued to build. About 8:45AM the door squeeked open slowly.

I smoothed out my blouse and sat up strait and put on my best smile, preparing to show him to our conference room where my boss and the upper eschelon patiently awaited the big moment.


I looked up expecting to see this tall, grand, dapper, businessy looking guy walk in.


In walked a mole man....yes, the best I can do to describe him is that he looked like a mole man. He was short, with nerdy glasses and a mop of hair that reminded me of Moe Howard in need of a haircut. His attire, an old faded blue striped button down shirt, a shirt I call a "grampa shirt" and a pair of faded and worn out blue jeans.

He was futzing with something in his little canvas attache case and looked up and shyly told me his name and that he was from G.E.

I relaxed.

_______________________________________

Hubby went to his $ 265.00 per 1/2 hour psyciatrist yesterday and spent about 6.00 worth of precious gas getting there to get his refill for his happy pill....all of which I pay for.

When I got home, he told me how they discussed cable TV and he told the shrink about our great new WOW system and how we told ComCast to take a hike. He went on to say that Dr. Pill Pusher was very interested and wrote down the name of the company and appreciated the referral.

He went on to say how they talked about the hot weather and how we were surprised that our monthly electric bill was only $100.00 even though our gargantuan central AC unit ran 24/7 during the period we were billed for, then talked about our neighbor's Alpha Romeo Convertable and how the neighbor was going to let Mike drive it.

"Did you talk about when and how he is going to ween you from those happy pills and get you back to work?" I asked.

"No", he replied, then went on to tell me how he discovered a bag of little super balls in the basement which he promplty added to his "workshop" in the basement that I call his "new black hole", because no work ever gets done down there, it is simply the area where the items from the old black hole ended up and is being added to daily as he finds little toy cars and cigarette lighters and such things in hidey holes here and there or in the overgrown foliage in the backyard.

Before I headed up to bed, I turned and said to him. "I'm not paying for anymore of these doctor visits."

Well, I'm off to get the old fart out of bed. He doesn't do anything all day and I need these boxes unpacked. I am still sick and completely worn out from the weeks work, but I can dictate...I can sit in a comfy chair and wave my finger around while HE unpacks and moves the stuff where I want it.

Sometimes it is good to be the boss.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!