Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:12 p.m. - 2004-06-24
Corporate Bullshit
My workplace at Midtown Pallet is in turmoil.

For 12 years now we have all worked together in a kind of unkempt, unorganized bliss that appears dysfunctional, but works beautifully in a simple, un-yuppified elegance.

We are a lean, mean, pallet recycling machine, and have made lots of money by working hard and skipping the pretenses of office politics and book learned formulas that bind the average "Joe College" into that box that he is always trying to think his way out of.

We have been sold out. Under new management since November, and are now owned by a Eastern Indian yuppie with an MBA and and MBS (Mostly Bull Shit), who came up in the rank and file of (in his accent) "A LEETLE COMB-PANY CALLED GEE EEE).

He signed himself up for a handsome salary of $1500.00 per week, restructured our office into a micro-managed, text book example of what he believes to be a successful corporate office and is slowly making business decision that are running our formerly profitable company quickly into the ground.

He is a well coiffed, suited, corporate version of a pigeon who flies into the office for 2 hours a day, flaps his wings, shits all over every thing and flies out with his $1,500.00 per week pay check, while we are left to clean up the mess.

We all had our workloads doubled and were promised more money in the form of a share in the bountiful profits that he was going to generate with his brilliance. So far, what ever profit there might have been, has gotten pissed away on things we don't need and big deals with company's 50 times our size who are taking advantage of this guys naivte and chewing us up and spitting us out.

We have made huge sums of money doing business with small and mid size companies, but it is beneath Chander to strike up a deal with any company smaller than a corporate giant.

To describe this irritant properly is to describe a used car salesman in Eastern Indian form, who acts like Barny Fife, always having to get into a big deal. (A bizzare combination of personalities)

He is a pacing, micro-managing, Herb Tarlek (WKRP), who kisses the floor when he enters and leaves a building (a Hindu custom I can't get used to).

Today, everyone threatened to quit. He has refused to give my bosses the raises they are asking for, which surely means I will not get one either.

This is a dilemma for me now as I will not continue to work for him, without my little work family I have grown so comfortable with. I also need more money with Mike refusing to get a job, and I am certain more money is something that will never happen now under Chander's management.

What is the dilemma? I hate office work, yet it is the only thing that I am qualified to do. How I got into this situation is a long story that I will not go into right now.

The only thing I hate more than being tied to a desk all day is the thought of working in the average corporate office where you have to wear "eeeew". PANTYHOSE and "EEEK", high heels, and spend 1/4 of your hard earned salary on what I call monkey suits.

I do not play office politics well and I find corporate bullshit to be....well...corporate bullshit. In other words, corporate life don't like me and I don't like it.

What to do...What to do.

I know I have to change my life and the only consistant thing I have ever wanted to do for a living is write.

I am going to have to take an office job to pay the bills, at least long enough to figure out how to make freelance writing pay. Maybe I will go back to school.

Until then, I will just pray every day that the good Lord will guide me in the "write" direction.

Thy will be done...not mine...I will follow his lead.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!