Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:58 p.m. - 2005-02-04
Practice makes perfect

Old Habits Die Hard

I walked in the door and told Mike, "I almost stopped at Boston Market on the way home, then I realized that maybe you had already made yourself something to eat, and I would have brought home expensive fast food for nothing."

"I was waiting for you to come home because I figured you would bring something home with you....should I go out and get something." he said.

"No"...I shook my head. "We are sort of broke and we have enought food to eat around here."

10 minutes passed. It was about 6:15PM.

"Could we eat soon?" he said.

"sure, when ever you want to heat yourself up something to eat." I answered non chalantly.

Silence....Silence...Silence...the Silence was so noisy I could barely hear over it....the tension so thick, I could cut it with a knife. I sort of felt a bit of building resentment eminating from the recliner....then felt the disapation of the resentment when he realized that he had nothing to be resentful about.

"Can I warm some up for you?" he finally said.

"No thanks...I'll just have a couple pieces of ham wrapped around a piece of cheese and some tomato juice." I said.

I felt bad...making him make his own dinner....I'll get over it.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!