Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:10 p.m. - 2004-07-16
Home from the Trojan War

Home From The Trojan War

This is my first post in almost a week. After my foray into the land of corn, I felt spiritually and mentally restored enough to get back in my pilot seat and resume the fight against the EVIL TROJAN that had so thoroughly infected my computer.

I discovered that this particular trojan was unconquerable by any known software and that the one person that was making headway towards creating software to remove it, had given up the fight. It seems the criminal hackers who are responsible for sending this piece of mal ware out, rewrote it so often that the anti- virus warriors couldn't keep up with it. The writers of this sinister program had literally won "The Trojan War".

I had pretty much resigned myself to the fact that I was going to have to save all of my documents and files, e-mail address book, reset my hard drive back to the factory settings and then reinstall all my programming and files; a daunting, time consuming task that made me want to shut off the computer and go run back out into the cornfield, when I decided to poke around one more time.

I noticed that the Word Pad program had been hi-jacked and the settings changed. I clicked onto the icon and my anti-virus notified me that the trojan was hiding there. After fixing Word Pad, I went on a hunt behind the scenes, and interspersed among the computer's files were all of these little Word Pad icons. Each one I clicked, contained a trojan copy.

THAT'S WHEN I SNAPPED

For the next 12 hours, I sat in that chair scanning every single file in that computer, all 179,000 of them. I became "Paula...The Human Anti- Trojan", and rythmicly clicked away exposing files and subfiles and sub, sub, sub files, deleting everything in my path that looked like Word Pad. I became one with my computer, eyes focused intently on the screen, fingers flying furiously, clicking away, oblivious to anything around me. At one point my Husband asked me if I wanted to stop to eat some pizza he brought home. The intrusion into my focus pissed me off. I turned to him and in a voice not unlike the one that came from Linda Blair in the Excorsist, I hissed......

"GO AWAY"

I started talking to the note pad icons, saying things like "Aha!!!, there you are, hiding out in a folder full of printer drivers, pretending you're one of them!"...."CLICK"...."BEGONE!!!!". I felt a sick sense of satisfaction with every file I deleted. 12 hours later, after deleting 9826 Word Pad files, I was done, spent, red eyed and wiped out.

I shut down my system and restarted it. I looked over the burned out battle field that was my desktop. I clicked on a few of my faithful program icons and most of them were corrupted, unusable.

In my quest to irradicate all the evil, trojan infected files, there was some collateral damage. I had murdered innocent little, hard working, files whos only crime was that of being written in Word Pad.

Some of my pictures were still there......CHEEZUS WEPT.

I surrendered

Monday through Thursday was spent in restoration. It is finished!!!

My little corner of cyberspace is once again working the way it should, however, just like America after the 911 attacks, it will never be free of confining security programs that must stay in place.

Regaining my sanity will take a little longer.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!