Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:18 p.m. - 2004-08-03
Do Real People Live This Way

Do Real People Do This????

I was browsing through a well known home and garden magazine today and wondering what in the world I was wasting the time looking at it for. Oh sure, the rooms were stunning, the gardens gorgeous, but even if I had the bucks to make my home as pretty as these pictures, the articles suggested that the homeowners, all professional people of course,with 3 kids, two dogs, and a cat, actually put hammer in hand and did their own construction, planting and cement pouring. I don't know any of these people, do you?

Anyway, I continued to page through the magazine, when I came upon an article encouraging parents of a bride and groom to forego the usual rehearsal dinner in a restaurant and "Send the newley weds off from the heart of their home".

The article went on to tell how to decorate with color coordinated napkins and instructions for handcrafting centerpieces out of weeds from the field down the street. The weeds were arranged artfully. The article continued on to the menu. You are supposed to cook the food yourself. I mean, how can one send their children off from the heart of the home without home made food, right? The menu consisted of the following:

Chicken and Duck Stew with earthy wild mushrooms, served with Israeli cous cous (it must be ISRAELI cous cous now).

3 cheese vegetable Lasagna with red onion, eggplant, ricotta, gruyere and goat cheese; (This can be plain old goat cheese and doesn't have to be Afghani or Caucasian mountain goat cheese or anything fancy).

Mixed greens with cardamom-curry dressing.

Apple-Garlic Ciabatta bread.

Now....tell me...Do real people eat this stuff?

Ok,lets say you were artsy and craftsy and loved to cook pretentious food, and loved to throw large dinner partys. Fine, but would you do this as the mother of the bride or groom, THE NIGHT BEFORE THE WEDDING?

I don't see how Martha Stewart could even squeeze it in having to figure out where to put 10 or 20 out of town guests, trying to keep a lid on your emotions and finding time for the last minute alterations that have to be made on the ugly mother of the bride or mother of the groom dress. The dress that was purposly bought a size too small and No, you didn't lose the 20 pounds you said you would.

Maybe it's me, but one thing I can tell you right now. When Michelle gets married, the mother of the groom is welcome to throw her doors open and have rehearsal dinner at her home and cook grilled quail salad. I ain't even offering to do the dishes.

P. I.Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!