Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 p.m. - 2004-09-24
Sleeping, raises, a book and a movie.

Dribble Drabble

Last night I fell into a deep deep sleep. I slept clear through the night. About 5:30 AM I was dreaming about something that I don't remember. All I remember is that I was dreaming and I heard the sound of the morning talk show host on my radio. As I slowly climbed out of the dream world and crossed the threashold to the world of reality, I thought, "Hm....Wonder why Terri is on Jake's show." Jake is the Sauturday morning talk show host. I kept wondering as I fully stepped into the world of reality and then the truth hit me like a baseball bat upside the head. "It's not Saturday stupid....it's Friday and you have to get up and go to work."

What a bummer. I have looked forward to going back to sleep again all day long. The work day was pretty easy. Chander did not come in, most of the weeks work got finished up on Thursday, Larry stayed sober yet again, and we achieved all of our goals. Another 40,000.00 week. I promised myself that if we started consistently hitting the 40,000.00 mark that I would ask Chander for that raise. I figure 6 weeks in a row is enough to establish that our sales are permanently up. At 40,000.00 per week, that company makes big big money. I know that Chander has quite a bit of overhead, having just bought the company and the whole fleet of trucks and trailers, and that 40,000.00 to him is not the same windfall as when we were hitting those numbers before the recession, but it is enough that I know he can afford to give me a couple hundred more per week.

Speaking of raises....I am going to ask for 600.00 per week. I was going to ask for 650.00, but I did some investigating and 650.00 throws me into another tax bracket where I would be paying 25% in federal tax instead of 15% and actually take home less money than if I get 600.00. May as well ask for the lesser amount, save him some money, look less greedy and go from there. That way, when we start hitting 50,000.00 per week in sales, which is his goal, I can go back in a year or so and ask for 700.00 per week.

I finished my work early today and had an hour to read my book. I am still reading "The Lovely Bones" because I don't get much time to read. However, I am not getting the same read out of it that everybody else I know experienced. I can't say I like the book much. I am going to finish it and I am not saying it is lousy but I guess it reads kind of slow. The concept creeps me out and is a bit unsettling although the point of view is very unique, but I can't say I am enjoying it.

I have to admit that I wish I had thought of writing from the point of view that Alice Sebold has written, but I think I would have written it differently. I don't think I like her writing. It doesn't move fast enough for me and I am getting lost in way too much dialogue in between each thought. It doesn't compel me to turn the page to want to go on to the next one, and I am having trouble identifying with her characters. I don't think she developed the characters well enough.

I am not calling it a lousy book. For heavens sake, I think it ranks as one of, if not the best book of the year. Everyone else I know who has read it just loves it. Maybe it's me. I have always enjoyed male writers more than female writers, just as I have always enjoyed male freindships more than my female ones.

One of the next books on my list to read is the "DaVinci Code". This one is another book that comes highly recommended by just about everyone I know who has read it, men and women alike. My sister Linda begs to differ though. She did not care for it and thinks she must be stupid because everyone else does.

Stories are stories though and we all like them for different reasons. There is nothing smart or stupid about whether you like a certain story. Look at me. The Titanic is one of the most beloved movies of the decade, yet I have it on my "Things that Piss Me Off" List.

Why does The Titanic piss me off? Because I felt ripped off. Here was this grand movie about a fascinating subject. A subject that has always interested me. I am a history buff and appreciated all the historical references as well as the exhibition of the difference between the wealthy passengers and the poor trapped down in steerage. I liked the idea that the two lovers came from opposite ends of the spectrum, showcasing the differences between the two. I loved the special effects, especially the end when the ship breaks in two and goes down....what went wrong then? Why does this movie piss me off? Because above all, in any story, I like well rounded characters, and I need to like the protagonist. Where every body else saw the Kate Winslet character as a nice girl.....I saw a spoiled brat who was using her fiance for her own good and then rubbing his face in the fact that she was running around with this little twit. My disgust didn't stop there as I saw the authors of the story try to make this poor fiance, who loved and respected this bitch and her coniving, gold digging Mother, into the bad guy....some kind of villain....just because he was rich. This hatchet job on the characters completely pissed me off, ruining the whole movie for me and that pissed me off even more.

OK....I told you I was an Oddball...you've all been warned.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!