Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:40 p.m. - 2004-10-08
Ex-Drunks Have More Fun

Sober People Have More Fun

Tonight I am commenting on an observation made by the Bride of the wedding I went to last Saturday night.

The wedding was attended by about 70 people and there was an open bar. Out of this 70 people were about 16 from the Bride's AA group all sitting at two tables along the back.

90 percent of the raucious laughter was coming from the 16 completely sober people drinking nothing but water and coffee. Boy we ex-drunks can have some fun together.

Maybe were are extra jovial because we are some of the lucky few that go to the gates of hell and somehow get spared. Maybe we are all just nuts and the nuttiness has continued into sobriety. My personal take is that we have immersed ourselves in a program of love and camaraderie and are so grateful that the good times didn't have to end when we put our glass down on the bar for the last time.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!