Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:34 p.m. - 2004-08-02
My Garden R.I.P.

My Garden....R. I. P.

My garden died today. All summer long we had just the right amount of rain. I have only had to water my garden twice this year. I got spoiled. Watering sort of didn't become a habit this year. Today, it got up to 90 degrees after a whole week of lower 70's, and my garden had been looking great, but I merrily went about my business not even thinking that it might need water. As I left for work this morning I noticed that it was already hot. I gave my former Eden a quick once over and realized that it looked parched. I made a mental note to water when I got home.

Too late.....It died. Oh, the petunias are attempting to bring themselves back to their former glory, but I think it is too late. They might survive and eek out a pink bud or two here and there, but the masses of pink waves that I have enjoyed this year are over. Even the portulaca died and it is a succulent. My only real choice might be to spend the weekend ripping all the half dead stuff out and seeing if I can't go on down to the nursery where I will pay an enourmous price for plants that they keep for people like me who kill their gardens and need to spruce them up. Home Depot and Walmart do not enter this market.

An alternative would be to just let it go and look like I live in a scaled down version of the Munsters house, or to spend time getting rid of the brown stuff and replace everything with some plastic or silk flowers from the dollar store. If no one walks up close to the house, I might be able to get away with it. Then I could put the dollar store flowers in a box in the garage for when I kill my garden next year.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!