Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:33 p.m. - 2004-09-27
Bird Identified?

Bird Identified

This is the third time I have typed this. It keeps disappearing into dland heaven and I can't put it on my MS Word first as there is some kind of glitch that makes it show up funny and drop words...here I go again.

Thank you for all of your comments on my bird. Judging by all the notes I got on this one, dland must be full of bird lovers.

Cosmicrayola sent me info on a site with pictures suggesting that maybe it was a baby Mourning Dove. While it was not a mourning dove baby, the site did aid me in tracking down what family of bird it belonged to and I have decided that it must be some kind of warbler, like I thought yesterday. I found a picture of a blue winged warbler and my bird looked identical to the picture except my bird had a creamy whitish colored breast and underbelly.

I discovered that I was indeed lucky to be able to spend time with this bird as they are not native to Illinois and can usually only be found in my area during the Spring and Fall migration. Their coloring is different in the fall because they have lost their mating colors by then, so who knows what kind of warbler my bird is...I just know that it is one. It could also be a female or an immature bird which would cause it to be more bland than some of the fancier warbler's I have found in pictures.

The only difference between my bird and the bird in the picture is the underbelly and the fact that my bird's wings were not blue, but a greyish color.

I am also lucky to have seen this bird because Warblers normally stay way way high up in the tree canopy of the forest. When this bird flew off, he did go to the tallest tree in the yard....way way way up.

I had so much fun trying to identify this bird, I may have a new hobby.

Well...good night and May God bless all of my buddies and all the little birdies.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!