Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:25 p.m. - 2004-09-03
Big News Day

Big News Day

Some days...well most days go by with no more news than the normal hype. (Someone got shot in Chicago, there's a giant accident on I90...Liberal vs. Conservative and visa versa....he says..she says...and on and on and on and on)...It's usually enough to make you want to run off into the quiet woods screaming, vowing never to turn on another radio or tv.

Then we have days like today...Ok..the usual political bullshit is there but it's a heatin up since the end of the GOP convention....then we have Hurricane Francis. Kind like a real life disaster movie, and our family's connection is that my daughter's good freind Miguel is currently in a Miami high school sleeping on a cardboard box next to a drag queen. He seems to be enjoying the experience, I just hope he will be OK.

My heart is aching for those poor children in Russia. I have been seeing pictures of the scene all day long. What a horror and God Damned those terrorists.

If those stories weren't enough, we then get the news about President Clinton having to have quadruple bypass surgery tomorrow. I hope he will be ok...and he was really looking good. Since leaving the Presidency and all the stress that comes with that and losing weight, he's been looking all rested and relaxed and downright young again.

I guess since I don't watch TV much, though, I haven't really seen pictures of Hilary lately. Saw her today talking about Bill's upcoming surgery and was quite surprised to see that she is letting her grey grow in. I mean she looks good and all....I was just surprised. I wonder if she is going for the distinguished lady look for her run for the Presidency in 2008.

The news has been so...well...newsy that I really haven't had time to think about much else...guess I have had a media dominiated day today...Oh yeah....I did forget one thing. Today Dan tried to lure me into a political discussion. He and I are usually on opposite ends of any given issue. I really have made a committment not to get into it with people because what should be a discussion usually ends up as an argument and nobody's mind is changed in the end.

He started subtly...asking me a question here and there in a freindly tone and in the asking, sort of leading me to the feeling that he felt a certain way. I just nodded and smiled and ignored and tried not to comment because with Dan, you never know if the conversation is going to get explosive. What usually happens is he will lead me into a freindly debate....then get mad at something I say and then scream something back at me...usually a question and then when I try to answer, he yells over my answer...kind of like Chris Matthews does on Hardball, then while I am in mid response...he goes running out the door so he doesn't have to hear what my answer is. Kind of like a kid who will put his hands over his ears and yell..."lalalalalalalalalalalal"...so he doesn't have to hear what he doesn't want to hear.

Anyway, he kept prodding and probing and prodding and probing and I just smiled and nodded and didn't get into it with him...then he gave up. I thought, "gee, he gave up pretty easily today." Sometime later, he asked kind of a generic sounding question about what I thought about an issue. My guard was down and like a fool, I gave my opinion. He didn't like my answer and tried to engage me in an argument....I kept replying to his questions in a matter of fact, soft spoken tone and didn't put down any of his opinions. He was looking for a fight though. I didn't give it to him. I think that made him even madder. He threw another hot question at me. This time, I answered it in a snot nosed, sarcastic way that I knew would get him and it did. I laughed as he ran out of the office with his hand over his ears shouting "la la la la la la la la la la".

Seriously though, he really didn't shout la la la la...but he did leave the office yelling. When he came back he was all over it...he got his argument that he had been trying to get in all morning. Poor guy...I guess 4 days of the GOP convention was just a bit too much for him. His wife told him that if he woke the baby up he would be in trouble so I guess he didn't get to yell at the TV last night like he wanted to and saved it all for me.

I know, I know... it sounds like we can get nasty with each other, but we are genuinely good friends. He just likes a good argument now and then. I simply don't have the energy for them anymore and would never cut anyone down for their well thought out opinion. However, if someone keeps at me and wants me to piss them off....I am certainly capable of doing it. LOL!!

Lets hope that tomorrow is a boring news day and that the people in Florida, Russia and President Clinton have a good day.

P. I. Yarnsmith.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!