Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:31 p.m. - 2004-10-26
Interview....Day One

Interviiieeeewwwww

The first thing I noticed when I woke up this morning was a terrible cough and that taste in the back of your throat that says "BRONCHITIS". I rarely get sick. I only get sick when my stress level reaches the stratosphere. I sort of figured I would get sick sometime this week. I usually don't let myself get stressed out, but sometimes it is unavoidable.

Turned out that the agency I went to was a temp agency. I told them that I knew the position was "temp. to perm., which is very very common now days. The company wants to rent before they buy. I have no problem with that as I know I can do the job. I have absolute confidence in my skills and absolute confidence in my ability to perform in every way as a dedicated and good employee. I am an extremely stable person, no children at home to call me away and I am no longer a drama queen. As a matter of fact, my sissy once called me "the voice of reason", until she reads this entry, she will never know that I counted that as one of the greatest complements I have ever been paid.

I did well on the interview. I looked her in the eye and answered all those stupid questions like; "Where do you see yourself in 10 years." and "What else can you bring to the table..Sell yourself," and all that corporate bullcrap. I feel I did well and my only concern is that this be a job with PERMANENT in their intentions. I don't want to give up my current position to be a professional temp.

I hate temping. Permanent employees treat temps like they are the lowest form of life, just a notch above pond scum and I am way way too sensitive to be treated as pond scum.

I have some paperwork to fill out and return to the agency and the recruiter called today and said that she is submitting my resume to the company and requesting an interview to the company, because I am a perfect fit to the profile.

We will see how it goes. As long as I am going through this, I am going to be just as picky as the companies doing the hiring are. I will not quit my job for just any old thing...no matter how bad I want to see Chander being his own secretary.

He overheard my conversation yesterday while I was on the phone with the recruiter and asked Dan if I was going on an interview. "Call me." he told Dan, "so I can be here while she is gone to answer the phones."

Since I hadn't told Dan yet that I wouldn't be there, he didn't say anything to Chander. This morning when I didn't answer the phone, Chander told Dan; "why didn't you call me."

"Because I don't need you here in the morning while I am trying to get my day planned." said Dan. I am surprised he had the guts to tell Chander that. Maybe this having guts stuff is catchy.

Yesterday after everyone left and it was only me and Dan, I told Dan that I knew it was Chander who put him and Howard in the middle of the whole scene. I told Dan that I thought Chander was a spineless twit for doing that. I also told him that I didn't have anything against Howard.

When I came in today, Howard said in his usual jovial manner; "Whatcha been doin...out trick or treatin?"

I laughed and we started talking a little; kind of hesitant at first and then it all just gave way into the old easy conversation we always have enjoyed with each other. There was such an air of relief in the office....everyone sensed it. We were all buds again...now it was us against Chander, once again.

I am so glad that is behind me. I have every intention of leaving and they know it, but now I can work out the rest of my time knowing that I don't have to dread going into work. This will free the part of me that gets all nervous for the interviews. At least the interviews, and looking forward to change will be the only thing on my plate, any bridges that I had started to burn are now fully repaired. All except for Chander.

I do not consider Chander to be a burnt bridge. I consider him a peice of drift wood that got in my way....just an old soggy peice of CHEAP ASS drift wood, limp and impotent and unable to do me any damage. I have glowing references from Howard, Dan, W.P.(the old owner), and R.C.(A respected CPA)....I have a kick ass resume and two new business suits. I have the confidence I need to get out there and the resolve to do it.

Damn...I Feel Powerful

Getting guts is hard and it is not without pain and I am sure that the hardest part is not behind me, but those guts were just achin to bust loose. Feels so good to know that no one has control over me but me and God, and I don't know for sure, but I think God is on my side.

Thank you all so much for your notes and wonderful words of encouragement....they really are helping me sally forth to new heights.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!