Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:50 p.m. - 2004-07-22
G. I. Jill

G. I. JILL

Last night I had a wonderful experience. My sister invited me to hear a friend of hers speak at the local American Legion Hall. This woman is the mother of my nephew's best friend, Neal, and a Colonel in the United States Army, home from Iraq for a 2 week leave.

Colonel Jill Morgenthaler is an Army P.R. person who is a spokeswoman for 3 and 4 star Generals, right there in Bagdad, who are stationed at one of Sadam's palaces. She was one of the 3 American service personnel who were present at the first court appearance of Sadam and got close enough to look right into his evil eyes.

I was privy to an unofficial presentation in a room full of about 20 Veterans, where this woman, who's job in the Army touches virtually everything that is going on, was able to be forthcoming, candid, and even give her "personal" views on certain things.

I was overwhelmed. This soldier/mommy was warm, freindly, sensitive, caring, tough, brave, poised, knowlegeable, and smart. I was mesmerized, listening to her graphic descriptions of what is really happening in Iraq.

We are not getting the truth folks. All we are hearing is the bad stuff. Our American Press, who in my opinion, loves to bash this great country of ours, gets it's news feed from Al-Jazeera, (or however you spell it), and takes their, terrorist supported, propaganda as the truth....then puts the words in English and publishes it as the truth.

There are great things going on in Iraq....We need to be there. The Iraqis people are by and large gratuitous. The moral of our troops are high.

I can't possibly describe to you how I felt when I left the Legion Hall last night, but I beg of anyone reading this to search out the truth. There is a website called www.supportusamilitary.org. It is filled with information as to how we can support our men and women over seas, send them letters and packages, etc. Attached to this site are the blogs of quite a few service people, who in postings, describe their daily lives in Iraq. Colonel Morgenthaler has one linked to this site which I found extremely interesting. If you have the time and inclination, check out the life and times of this ultra interesting woman at www.supportusamilitary.org/Morgenthaler.html

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!