Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:18 a.m. - 2004-12-25
The last nod

The last Nod

In my posting of December 14th I talked about my visit to see my Grandmother.

I ended that posting with these words:

"I was just sitting and watching Grandma, trying to drink her in as much as I could, trying to fill up on her because one of these days that little head is going to nod on over, her chin is going to hit her chest and it won't come back up."

Today, Christmas Eve, 2004, I had just opened the door to my 13 dinner guests. The oven's buzzer had barely sounded when the phone rang. It was Aunt Edie and Aunt Joanne.

Aunt Jo and Uncle Carl brought Grandma over to Aunt Edies for Christmas Eve dinner. She was dressed in her little Christmas sweatshirt and in a happy, festive mood. She looked at the Christmas tree and ate a hearty meal. After the meal, her head nodded over, her chin hit her chest and it did not come back up.

It hasn't even hit me yet that she's gone.

Francis Slanchik: April 1, 1904 - December 24, 2004.


P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!