Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 p.m. - 2005-12-17
I'm a princess...I really am

A Long Long Hard Week and at the end of it......A Tiara

I had a tough week. If you read the entry my buddy h2ophobic posted this morning, she and I had similar experiences with payroll, not so much the printing of the checks but with multiple exceptions to the rules. The worst of mine was having to add a taxable fringe benefit to my bosses check which caused his check with his 1200.00 per month (Yes...per month) raise to be less than it was before the raise, due to the tax hit. He didn't buy the tax hit explanation, although it was correct, and blamed me for doing it wrong, thereby shorting him about 500.00.

This would have only been a matter of explaining and re-explaning until his thick head got it but it had the added stress of happening on the day of my annual review which I stressed about all day, then didn't get due to him being busy.

My review was rescheduled for Friday. Friday morning the tollway was stopped dead by a stalled car on the side of the road that everyone thought they had to gape at, and I was 15 minutes late to work. Now...I have been 15 minutes early to work for about 5 or more weeks in a row and spent countless 1/2 hour long periods or more staying late for no extra pay...but that never gets mentioned. Walk in late once though and it is mentioned and mentioned and mentioned again and again and again....all on the day of my annual review...which I didn't get, because he got too busy.

So, my review is re-scheduled for Monday. I am not worried about getting a bad review. I am worried about getting a stinky raise and if I get a stinky raise the resentment inside of me will be so great I will hardly be able to stand my own mind and heart....I am preparing to get a stinky raise anyway and preparing myself for smugness instead of resentment as from that point forward I will not bend over backwards for him or the company and not stay late one iota. When I take my vacation in the spring, I will simply go back to the agency and sign up to find a new job...for more money, better benefits and closer to home....since I will not be desperate and have markedly better skills, I will hold out for the best and not accept just any old job.

I love my co workers and my duties are resonably pleasant and I am able to work here because this boss with the loud Jack Benny voice who continually makes sexual comments about every little word he hears is usually out of the office 3 days per week. Well, guess what. He got promoted to President of the company and has been in the office all week for two weeks now and he drives me crazy with the constant interruptions, the need for me to stop whatever I am doing to answer his same questions over and over again and he unquenchable seach for perfection and....well, he is just exasperating....

So....in a nutshell...I had a really really bad week.

Then....I come home to a box on my dining room table. Inside was a beautiful tiara from our buddy in Queensland, Au, Hissandtell

I wore the tiara all evening reminding me that although a slave to the master with the Jack Benny voice....I can be a princess in the evenings and on my weekends.

When you read my postings from now on, picture me in my ivory tower (2nd floor office) blogging away in a gorgeous tiara.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!