Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:06 p.m. - 2006-12-10
I'll make an exception to my pet peeve

Inflatable Snowmen

I hate inflatable Christmas Decorations. I find them garish. There is nothing more unattractive to me than driving down the streets of my city full of quaint older homes and stately Victorians than to see the shimmering lights and vision of Americana marred by great looming figures of Tigger, Scooby Doo, next to Giant Santa's and Grinches waving in the wind, towering over creches and those quaint looking deer covered with white lights that everyone seems to have nowdays.

Another pet peeve is toyland erected right next the the creche complete with Virgin Mary, Joseph and Baby Jesus. Perhaps Toyland should be in the back yard and Bible land in the front or vice a versa. I suppose the integration of the biblical decorations along with Santa and the North Pole say something about our society and how we now don't merely celebrate Christmas but "ChristmaQuanzika"....but I digress.

This posting started as a rant against giant garish inflatable creatures and not the disrespect of having plastic toy soldiers standing in guard over the Holy Family.

I have to make an exception to my dislike of inflatable creatures though and state that I do love inflatable snowmen. There is something about the shape of the snowmen and the way they dance in the wind that I find particularly amusing. For one, their smiles never wane even when being blown about by gale force, bone chilling winds. Their hands are usually held upwards, one with a wave and the other holding a broom. The winds blow them backward to the point of almost touching the ground, their arms waving about and I can almost hear them yelling (with their everpresent smile)...."Whoa, Whoa, Whoa, there I go again.", then popping back up and waving one arm as if to say, "There I am...I'm alright now...no harm done....oh no...here it comes again...Whoa, whoa, Weeeeeeeee, that's fun", as they are blown back yet again and again and again.

These little snowmen seem to be having the time of their lives. I always find myself smiling as I watch.

There are also times when there is merely a breeze. At these milder times, the smiling creatures are at the least, seemingly waving to passerbys, telling us, "Don't worry, it's all really nothing you know...there is really no reason to come apart...If a plastic snowman can survive all this, surely you can survive a little Christmas."

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!