Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:01 p.m. - 2004-12-08
dream a little dream

I live in a cracker box "quad home" and have been living there for 18 years. This in and of itself is not a terrible thing...It is a nice development in a nice neighborhood. It was a handyman special when we moved in and the first 5 years I was too high to notice. The first 5 years of sobriety were spent paying off my 17 year long party and the next 5 we just didn't have the money to have it fixed up nor the inclination to do it ourselves.

Three years ago we refinanced and borrowed extra money to HAVE the place fixed up. Months after that, my husband lost his job of 30 years and now after 2 1/2 years I have lost all hope that he will ever work again...not because of the economy, but because he is a lazy ass.

I have always wanted a single family home...something with a yard where I could plant me a veggie garden....a big one...heirloom veggies and especialy lots of tomatoes. I am fortunate to have a nice flower garden in the condo here and want more of that also. It has also been my dream to have a nice old "period" home. Victorian had always been my preference but lately I have been charmed by the craftsman style.

Unfortunately, being married to the lazy ass also guarantees that I will not be living in a grand old house because I will never get him out of this one. We could be millionaires and he would not move out of the cracker box. Moving out of the cracker box might mean that he would have to mow a patch of lawn or use a screw driver and actually get his lazy ass out of bed before 2PM and do something. He thinks he lives in paradise right now. No working, no taking care of a house....wife does everthing....what more could a man want?

This new job I am hoping to get with the high pay has me dreaming though. being able to support myself takes away all excuses for staying in this relationship....leaving the relationship and having enough money to support myself...moves me closer to my house dream.

I found this little old craftsman style bunglow in the town on Geneva, Illinois. It is a historicly preserved little town with quaint little shops along the Fox river. The Fox river valley is another area that I love. Most towns along the Fox river valley look like they came out of a picture book. The ad said that this house was on the quaintest, quietest, nicest street in Geneva and I suppose with the 1/2 equity I could get out of my home in a settlment and my higher wages and some skimping on other things here and there I could most likely afford it. On top of it...it is completely renovated.

I love this style house so much, I copied pictures of it for inspiration.

Now I know that I don't have this job yet and that by the time I am ready to make any kind of move, this one will not be available...but Geneva, St. Charles, West Chicago and Batavia...all quaint old little Fox River Valley towns have plenty of these and I'm gonna someday get me one...Mark my word.

I am leaving for West Virginia tomorrow. This will be my last posting until Monday or Tuesday of next week. Will see y'all then...

P. I. Yarnsmith.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!