Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:59 p.m. - 2006-12-06
I'm a WATCHER!!!

Little bits of drama

I love watching people. Sometimes I feel disconnected fromt he crowd I'm in and draw back and just watch a little scene play out in front of me. A mini drama.

My community is 33 percent hispanic, but going out and about in the stores, you would think it was 75% hispanic. No wonder all the marketing people are trying to get data on the hispanic demographics, them people are out there shoppin....big time.

One thing that I noticed in my highly hispanic community is that hispanics like to be out. The entire family, including teenagers, will pack off to CVS to go wait for Mama's prescription to be filled. They walk around the store and look at everything and you can usually find a number of people standing amongst the soap and shampoos, opening the caps and smelling the aromas in each one.

As I waited for my own prescription to be filled, I shopped around myself and kept running into this one family of a Mother, Father, teenage daughter, teenage son and 10 year oldish daughter. How many caucasian teens would dare be seen with their parents?

It was obvious this family enjoyed being together. Afer a while, the littel family went to wait for the prescription to be filled and sat in the chairs talking and laughing with each other, in no particular hurry to be on their way, as they were enjoying their outing. I also went to the pharmacy area to wait. A little drama unfolded in front of me.

The Mama went to ask about her prescription and said the last name was HYMIE. The lady behind the counter said "HYMIE?, with an H?"

The Mama replied "No, with a YAY". The clerk looked confused and searched her brain for something more to say when the teenage daughter stepped forward and said "it's Jaymie...J-A-Y-M-I-E.

I had no problem understanding her becasue I have worked with Mexicans all my life. At the pallet company we had a guy named Jaymie (pronounded HYMIE) and the first time I spoke to him he asked me if we were hiring becasue he needed a YOB....thus is the versatility of the letter "J" in the Spanish language.

The pharmacists filled the script and the father unassumingly walked up to his teenage daughter, smoothed her long dark hair and gently kissed her on top of the head. She leaned into him and smiled.

This little drama has been brought to you by Rosarita's Frijoles....that's FriHolayes for the hispanically challenged.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!