Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:09 p.m. - 2004-12-03
Walkin on Cloud 9 or maybe even 10

A Hodge Podge of Stuff...Good Stuff...Well, Mostly

I am on two weeks vacation starting....NOW!!!. I ran a bunch of errands on the way home so I won't have to get up early tomorrow, bought some King Crab Legs for dinner and rented that newly released Harry Potter movie for after dinner to celebrate and was looking forward to hunkering down for the night. I walked in the door and Mike's voice greeted me from the back room.

"That lady from the employment agency left a message, she wants you to call her."

I ran to the phone and called her. The evil low self esteem part of me that I am trying to kill so the dynamic upwardly mobil part of me can come alive said, "she is probably calling to tell you that you didn't make the cut."

Guess what? Go ahead...Guess....OK, I'll tell you.

I MADE THE BLOODY CUT!!!! THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO SEE ME AGAIN!!!!!

Now the evil egotistical side of me is trying to emerge....I must stay humble...I aint got the job yet but....

THEY ACTUALLY WANT TO SEE ME AGAIN!!!...I MADE THE CUT.

The 2nd interview won't be scheduled until the week of the 13th. I will go to West Virginia to visit my old Granny on December 9th and come home the 12th and get ready come the week of the 13th to claim my place in the realm of "Office Managers"....the kind they pay 35,000.00 to 40,000.00 per year...yeah...that's me. I will return to Midtown Pallet just in time to give my two weeks notice and 2005 will start out a damned site better than 2004 or 2003 for that matter.

I have a funny story to tell you. One thing I will miss about Midtown Pallet is the array of characters that it attracts. I will save it for tomorrows post as this is starting to get long and I have something else I want to add.

God is indeed looking out for me and I owe all of you who asked him to grant lil ol me a favor a debt of gratitude.

The following little Christmas story was sent to me as an email and I found it touching and appropriate. Have a Good Friday night everybody and I will leave you with this little story while I go and walk off on cloud nine.

Who Started This Christmas Thing?

There was a woman out Christmas shopping with her two children. After
many hours of looking at row after row of toys and everything else
imaginable and hearing both her children asking for everything they saw
on those many shleves, this woman finally made it to the elevator with
her two kids.

She was feeling what so many of us feel during the holiday season time
of the year: Overwhelming pressure to go to every party, every
housewarming, taste all the holiday food and treats, get that perfect
gift for every single person on our shopping list, make sure we don't
forget anyone on our card list, and the pressure of making sure we
respond to everyone who sends us a card.

Finally the elevator doors opened--there was already a crowd in the
car. This woman pushed her way into the car and dragged her two kids in with her along with all her bags of stuff. When the doors closed, she
couldn't take it anymore and said out loud, "Whoever started this whole
Christmas thing should be arrested and strung up!"

From the back of the elevator, a quiet calm voice responded, "Don't
worry ma'am, I believe they crucified Him."

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!