Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:31 p.m. - 2004-12-01
Using my Guts!!!!

The Perfect Match

Since we last met, I went through 2 days of "Jumping Out Of My Skin" kind of nervousness. I barely slept. You would think that I was awaiting medical tests that would tell me if I had a terminal illness or not. I kept telling myself, "why am I so nervous. I am simply going to go drive to a place I've never been before, go up in a big fancy high rise, wear a suit like outfit, talk to a man for a half an hour and leave. When it is over, I will drive home, change my clothes and go about my regular schedule...what is to be so incapacitatingly nervous about."

I pep talked myself 100 times over and the nervousness would not go away. I have had a headache for 2 days now...OK..OK...I'll get to the point.

We got a nice blanket of snow last night throwing another monkey wrench into things. How long would it take to get there in slippery traffic, would I have to put on jeans, go scrape the ice off my car, then come back in and dress for the interview. Would I have to walk across a slippery parking lot in high heels. I pictured myself arriving at this posh office with ripped pants covered with parking lot salt from the spill I knew I would take. Ok..Ok...I'll get to the point.

Once I was there, in the posh office, all signed in, a tremendous sense of calm came over me. The recruiter met me and told me that after reading my resume, the company owner seemed to think me perfect for the Office Manager role, the lower paying one (yet much more than I was asking my current owner for). My heart sort of fell because I really want accounting. I really did not want to be answering phones in a one girl office again. I figured that I would do my best to convince him that I was perfect for the accountant position.

Mr. Cook was a very likable, down to earth gentlemen in his mid to late 40's. As it turns out, he is uncomfortable in an interview situation too and also hates wearing good clothes and ties. He did not interview me in the "behavioral psycological" way that so many big corporations use now days. The interview was down to earth and to the point...like the interviews of old. I instantly liked this guy.

It was apparent after about 10 questions, that I was NOT qualified for the accountant position at his larger company but that I was a perfect match for the Office Manager, with accounting position at his smaller company. It is a dirty little company with a male only staff where profanity is sometimes uttered when frustration occurs....Just like Midtown Pallet. It is a small 1 1/2 million dollar per year company, just like Midtown pallet. The work I would be doing would be the exact same work I do at Midtown Pallet.

The exception is that Midtown Pallet wants to pay me 24,000.00 per year with no insurance...no sick days....profit sharing and after 12 years I still only get 2 weeks vacation.

This company wants to pay me between 35,000.00 and 40,000.00 per year, full insurance benefits for me and hubby and 5 sick days per year and 3 weeks vacation after 5 years.

Now although this looks better, I was still hesitant because as long as I am making this leap....I want more than money. I want growth. I do not want to be a "secretary/receptionist/accountant" I want to be a "Manager" or an "Accountant" not a peon...for any amount of money.

I asked him what his plans are for the company. He said he expects to be a Ten Million Dollar company within 5 years. The potential for growth is excellent. I asked, "should I prove myself qualified and you reach your goals, what would that mean for my position."

He said, "I am creating this position and calling it Office Manager with the intention of rapid growth. At first you will be doing all the work yourself. Over the years we will add a receptionist, a billing clerk, a file clerk and accounting clerks. If the everthing goes according to plan, you will be the boss. All those people will be reporting to you and with that responsibility will be adequate wage compensation."

I thought, "Boy....I could really make something of myself here. I could waltz right in and hit the ground running in an environment I am already familiar with for almost twice the money I am making now. If the company grows and I can handle the additional responsibility...that 50 or 60 thousand dollar per year income could very well be with in 5 years reach...along with my 3 week vacation.

I stretched my hand out to shake his as I left. "I believe this is just the opportunity I am looking for."

He said, "I am interviewing 10 people for 2 positions today and will be scheduling a round of 2nd interviews. I hope to see you again, If you make the second round."

I thought.."If? Oh Lord....please let there be an If."

I thought I did well. I think I would be a perfect match for them and they for me. I WANT THIS JOB!!!!

Almost 13 years ago, I left a drug and alcohol rehab center unemployed with raw emotions and a broken soul. Going back to corporate America just wasn't good for me. I had a teenage daughter who had not had good parenting and needed my attention, yet I had to make a living. In the newspaper, I found a little ad for a local general office position. This was Midtown Pallet.

Midtown Pallet turned out to be the perfect nice little job my frazzled mind and broken soul needed. It was close to home, had a family like atmosphere and it was a job I could go work and not have to bring home with me. It worked around my daughters time at school and afforded me the flexibility to come and go if she needed me. They became my friends....they became my family. I helped them grow their company, I got valuable experience doing so. I truly believe that God himself put that job out there for me.

In the same spirit...If I get this position...I will thank God again...for putting the next opportunity in my path and for giving me the strength and relative ease in finding it.

I thank God for all of my good friends and buddys out there. My Hubby who brushed the ice and snow from my car for me at 7 O'clock in the morning with out my asking him to, my sisters and friends for their support and my diaryland buddies for all of the encouraging notes that were left..making it easier to take the next step in my quest to better my life....I am truly rich to have found you all.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!