Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 a.m. - 2005-11-19
The neverending treadmill

Dig, Dig and no naked Jig

Somebody sent me a virtual card with a bull doing a jig and the bull has an udder...I didn't think bulls had udders....then again people aren't supposed to have udders either and if I did that jig naked, I am sure I would look like I had one. That's a scary thought....me dancing naked. (shudder).

Today, Mike and I HAVE to finish the yard. It will get to be 50 today tops and I am hoping it will be enough to thaw my pile of frozen gravel so once we dig more space to put it....it can be spread.

Tomorrow we need to put all the boxes that came from my Mother in Laws that are on our 3 season porch, in the house and then clean out the porch and bring in all the summer stuff...patio set, barbeque, garden foo foo's, potters bench.

Tuesday, the movers come with the rest of MIL's boxes and furniture and we will pack that in somewhere too. This house is a colossal mess with way too much stuff in it already and Tuesday we are incorporating another household's stuff in. Sheesh....I knew I should a bought a bigger house.

I am sure this Christmas that I will only get up a tree. I am pretty much resigned that I will not be bringing out all my christmas stuff. I really wanted to decorate big this year but that aint gonna happen. This is the year to organize and fit it all in, decorate, paint, dig and plant. Next Christmas I will go all out. I will shop the sales after Christmas and buy all the stuff for next year in January while I have money and while it is all on sale.

I will spend Thanksgiving weekend trying to sort out as much as possible and get Mike organized to do what he can during the week. The problem with a man staying home to do the housework....they just don't know what to do. They look at a room and see one thing and a woman looks at the room and see's a mess. He needs to be told....do this...then do that...then do this....and he is happy to do it...he just doesn't know what to do or where to start.

At this point, things are such a disheveled mess, I don't know where to start. This year has been a year of "just get it to this point and don't worry about what comes next." like, "just get the gravel delivered and moved around back, then we will go on to the next step, or just buy the bushes and we will put them in when we get a chance....or just get into the new job and then I can see where it takes me....or just get Mom's stuff in here by such and such a date and then we will decide where to put it.

Well....the time to decide what to do next has come....on every level. It is all here now and we have to decide where to put it all....it is like putting 10 pound of crap into a 5 pound bag and having to do it in a short amount of time.

I have almost all of my Christmas bought...only really have Three more gifts to get (the three for the people hardest to buy for...I havn't a clue as to what to get).

In the end, I will end up getting my daughter a gift certificate and she can pick out something she wants....she is way to picky to 2nd guess for home or personal wear.....my aunt will no doubt have a list which we will find out on Thanksgiving and I guess I will pick from that....then I have Mike's couson Lori and her partner Amy....I have given up on giving them seperate gifts as there is nothing I have ever given Amy that she seems to be happy to get and if I just buy them a combo gift for their house, I can put more money into it. Trouble is....like most gay, childless people, they are very successful in their careers and both highly paid and have everything under the sun that a person can use....hard to buy for, and what ever you do get them..well....they don't rave over it.

They are into fine wine and have all the wine gear including traveling boxes and their own traveling glasses they bring everywhere. (That is going way overboard). Now,when asked what to bring to a family gathering...I just say, bring the wine. That way, they can show off their knowledge of wine and I don't have to buy it to sit in my fridge going flat with no booze drinkers living here.

They are by far the hardest to buy for as even a gift certificate is out of the questions. Giving these girls a gift certificate is like giving them cash as they can afford to buy anything they want and there is no thrill in giving them more cash. I am thinking maybe just putting together a gourmet gift basket for them.

If I can get organized enough over Thanksgiving to set Mike on a course for the week, and we can get this place squared away...I may just be able to get my Christmas stuff out. Either way, I am looking at no rest until February.

I have decided that this year, the month of February will be "Weekend PJ days"....I am looking forward to loading up on a bunch of good books.....having a list of good movies and sleep in on every weekend day in February, putting on a clean pair of flannel PJ's in the morning and just loafing, reading and watching TV....everyweekend...all weekend.

Come March, I will have to resume getting the house squared away so I am completely finished on the inside by April 1st. Then I am taking my vacation...or at least a week of it and getting my garden ready.

My goal is to be completely organized by Memorial day so my next summer can be spent enjoying our yard and puttering at a liesurly pace and enjoying our new city and seeing what it has to offer...Also, I need to have time to get back into daily blogging. However, I will also be broke by then. LOL!!

Well, time to go outside and dig...the last dig of the year.

Have a great day.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!