Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:53 p.m. - 2004-11-11
Veterans Day

Why I Owe Them

Today, I woke up in a warm, quiet room to the sound of jovial voices on my radio. I fed my cat food that would be considered a delicacy in 3rd world countries.

I picked out my clothes from a drawer full of nice things and selected a blouse from a closet full of pretty dresses and blouses.

I drove to work in my $20,000.00 automobile and filled my tank with gas that is half the price it is in any other country.

I openly discussed the days news with my co-worker. His opinion differed from mine. We remained friends anyway and no one feared a silencing authority.

I worked all day in my chosen profession and on my way home I shopped at a grocery store full of people who had come here to live from other countries.

I came home to a warm home, a filling dinner and am about to go out and see some friends.

This was not a remarkable day....In America. This was a day that people in some other countries can only dream of.

I am thankful for this day....for the days like it to come. I am thankful because brave souls in the past, brave souls in the present and brave souls yet to be born leave the comfort of their own homes and the arms of their loved ones to risk and or give their lives so I could stay free.

Thank You For Your Service!

P. S. Mom....I miss you!!!

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!