Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:27 p.m. - 2004-11-09
That Lil ol Bookkeeper Me

FULL CHARGE BOOKKEEPER ME...YAY!!!!

Had my interview today. This interview was not directly with a company offering a job, but with an agency that only places financial personnel. This was an important step for me today.

I have no college degree but a whole lotta experience in accounting and I have also had a couple of little part time businesses on the side over the years for which I did my own bookkeeping and filed my own tax forms. I have never paid an accountant to do my taxes, even when it got complicated. For a woman who failed every math course I ever took, I do surprisingly well when it comes to tracking financial data.

Most of my experience has been as an Accounts Receivable Clerk, a position that was almost entry level office work 20 years ago and now requires an associates degree. For the past 12 years I have worked in a General Office position for the pallet company and I do all their office work. Billing, Bookkeeping, Customer Service, Secretarial...All of it.

I learned lots about principals of accounting in my accounts receivable positons, but just one side of it. Bookkeeping for my own businesses and for the pallet company has given me experience for the whole range of bookkeeping skills.

Having only worked for small companies, I really didn't know if I could represent myself as a Full Charge Bookeeper or not. Being able to do so would get me even more money than I was asking Chander for.

Rober Half & Associates, represents financial personnel on a higher level than just accounting clerk, so I hadn't bothered to sign with them. I put my resume on Monster.com and one of their reps found me. We talked on the phone and she suggested I come in for an interview and to go through their testing to see if they might be able to represent me. How did I do?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I PASSED....I PASSED.....NOT ONLY DID I PASS....I PASSED WITH FLYING COLORS AT AN

ABOVE AVERAGE LEVEL

YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!AM I SMART OR WHAT!!!!!!

Robert Half has agreed to represent me. I can now be smug and pretentious and when people ask me how I am doing on my job search, I can stick my nose in the air and say "Oh, I have a headhunter looking for me."....OK...I won't stick my nose in the air..I won't even be smug....For anyone who's self esteem is in the stratosphere this may not sound like a big deal, but folks, I have spent my life snorting up the crumbs in life because I never believed in myself. This is why I have spent all this time making peanuts in that pallet company, when all along I was qualified to be a full charge bookeeper.

This means that I will definitely find a job for at least what I asked Chander for plus benefits, which I am not getting now. Actually the range of pay could even put me as high as $40,000.00 per year...although that is probably more of a dream than reality....Who knows....It could happen.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!