Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:30 p.m. - 2004-11-08
Cut and Color Please

Only My Hairdresser (Daughter) Knows For Sure

As I sit here writing todays entry, my head is covered in a shiny, brownish, glop of ammonia smelling goop. The hottest hair stylist in the Chicago area's Golden Corridor is at my house giving me a color and cut that would cost anyone else $130.00, for free. If all goes well, maybe she will have time to do a manicure and eyebrow wax, which will up my freebee to a $200.00 value.

Actually, I paid for these services up front about 5 years ago when I coughed up the $10,000.00 it took to put her through cosmetology school, but it feels like its free.

I have an important interview tomorrow and a my mirror's reflection this morning reported back "The Skunk Effect".....The Skunk effect is when your head of hair is a nice color brown with a silver racing stripe going down the center part.....and only my hairdresser knows the extent of the grey that lies beneath the brown.

I work with a bunch of men....no metrosexuals, they.....These rough, tough, manly men I see everyday do not understand that a 48 year old woman is not naturally brown headed. We have this old fart that comes to bring us pallets and on one such "Skunk effect" morning, when I desperately needed a fixin....I had my head bent down filling out some paperwork. The old fart was looking in my direction and then muttered..."Wowwwww"...."How'd you do that to your hair?"

"Do what?" I replied.

"Howd ya get dat really neat looking stripe down the middle of your head."

He was in a hurry and couldn't wait for me to stop rolling on the floor in laughter to respond.

Well....my hairdresser is calling...her watch is beeping and it's time for a rinse and a cut. Tomorrow, I will look 10 years younger for my interview....It's magic.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!