Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:37 a.m. - 2004-11-07
Who revived J.R.?

Dallas is Back!!!

Dada Dada Dada dadadada Da Da Da Dada Daaaaaa....DaDa DaDa Dada Dadadada Da Da Da Da Da Da.....In case your wondering, I am trying to Blog the Dallas Theme.

This must not have been advertised very well as I didn't even know they were planning a Dallas reunion until Friday when Dan read me the article out of the paper. I don't watch very much TV, so I wasn't surprised that I didn't hear of it, but the lump that lives in my recliner sits in front of the TV for the entire 10 hours he is awake every day and he didn't hear anything about it either.

8:00 PM central time....I will be a lump in a chair in front of the TV.

My husband and I watched every single episode of Dallas, almost from day one. We got hooked when visiting his parents in Bull Head City, Arizona and were going to go to a movie one Friday night. The movie didn't start until 10:00 and we didn't have anywhere to go. We were just sitting down to watch TV when Mom and Dad grabbed the remote and said, "Sorry, we HAVE to watch Dallas."

For lack of anything better to do, we stayed and watched and got hooked. Dallas was always a show we watched together. If one of us was out for the evening, the show would get taped and we would wait and watch it together. Even during a particularly rough time in our marriage where we barely talked to each other, let alone sat in the same room, Dallas would be the one thing we had to watch together.

I think it was Dallas, more than parenthood that started keeping us home on Friday nights.

Dallas...or the lack of Dallas, was also responsible for the conception of my daughter in the last week of November of 1979. We were visiting my in laws in Bull Head and were flying out of Vegas on one Saturday early morning. Instead of making the trip from Bullhead in the wee hours, we decided to stay in Vegas, not to gamble, but just to be near the airport. We even stayed in a Travel Lodge to keep the evening low key.

We arrived in Vegas early in the day and decided to take a cab ride downtown and have dinner at the Golden Nugget. During dinner, we consumed too many carafs of good wine and after dinner we decided to head back to the strip. We wanted to make it back to watch Dallas.

Well, we had about 4 hours to kill....we were extremely drunk and extremely stupid....we decided to walk the 7 miles back between downtown LV and the strip.

I don't know what the area between looks like now, but at the time it was a rather industrial and seedy looking area that was completely abandonded after 5PM. It was dark, we bought a couple of beers to go at a liquor store and stashed them in our coat pockets.

A bit later, there we were, walking dead center down the middle of a seedy, abandoned street in the dark, drinking our beer, coats wide open, laughing about things that only drunks laugh about. Just about the time we ran out of beer, we noticed a lone, lighted sign up ahead....It was a dirty book store. I had never been in a dirty book store before but always wondered what they looked like in side. I was drunk enough to do just about anything, so we went in.

The creepy looking man behind the counter decided to let the two of us in for one quarter. We had to go through a turnstyle and for both of us to go through on one quarter required that we sort of spoon up back to front and go through as one person. Looking back, I wonder now if the creep got some kind of sick kick about watching us spoon through the turnstyle. I won't go on about what we saw in the book store, but I do remember laughing at some of the stuff I saw.

A while later we were back on the desolate street and walked on a little further and found another liquor store. We popped inside and bought more beer. There were several more dirty book stores along the way, but we didn't go in. One was enough and we needed to get back to see Dallas. After walking about 7 miles, we saw the lights of the strip up ahead shining like it was the Emerald City.

To make a long story shorter, we got back to the Travelodge and found that their antennae was down and not receiving the channel Dallas was on.

What to do...What to do....It was 8PM and we weren't ready to hit the sack. Well.....a little over 9 months later Michelle was born. There are reasons why I know that she was conceived in Vegas that night, but I will spare the medical information that brought me to that conclusion.

I wonder if J.R. will be as sinister as an old man and if Sue Ellen is still a good representatin of Miss Texas. Of course dear Miss Ellie won't be back and Jock was long dead before the series ended. I don't know if Howard Keel is still alive and if he will be part of it too, but if he is he must be ancient by now...maybe about 90. He was old 20 years ago.

Dallas brings back lots of memories and Mike and I will sit side by side watching it as we did all those years ago.

O.M.G. This is a late amendment to todays post. 3:21PM Central Time. Above I mentioned Howard Keel, wondering if he was still alive and how old he must be. Just now on Yahoo news, I found the following story.

By BOB THOMAS, Associated Press Writer LOS ANGELES - Howard Keel, the broad-shouldered baritone who romanced his way through a series of glittery MGM musicals such as "Kiss Me Kate" and "Annie Get Your Gun" and later revived his career with television's "Dallas," died Sunday. He was 85.

Keel died Sunday morning of colon cancer, according to his son, Gunnar.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!