Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:36 p.m. - 2005-11-06
Hard Rock Annie

Oops, I did it again

I was so sore from last weeks foray into my wild backyard, digging up prehistoric roots and eliminating ancient hosta, fern, day lilly and lilly of the valley colonies, that the pain (extreme pain) followed me all the way through until Thursday.

Between the pain and the anxiety that the forthcoming weekend meant excavating 3 inches from a 200 square foot area and running the wheelbarrow fulls of dirt all the way to the back of the yard to be dumped then having to move 1 1/2 tons of Grade 8 gravel that was to be dumped on my driveway, I didn't sleep well all week.

Thank God for family. Saturday, Mike and I started with the excavation. After wobbling my first wheelbarrow of dirt across the yard I wondered "what in the hell did I get into."

We started at 9:30 AM. By 1:00 PM only 1/2 the area had been excavated, my muscles were already shot and the gravel lay waist deep upon my driveway. Linda, Don and nephew Joe showed up and the work started going faster.

Once the help was there, the only anxiety was the approaching thunderstorms and I imagined my pile of gravel being washed away down the driveway into the gutter or worse yet, turning into a hard concrete lump we would have to break free with a pick axe.

We forged ahead. I had to run to the hardware store for more weed fabric and figured that most of that rock would have been moved by the time I got back. It turned out to be the Never Ending Pile of Gravel.

The guys ran the wheelbarrows while sissy and I filled them. We cracked each other up singing renditions of "That's the sound of the men working on the chain..gang." and "16 Tons and What da ya get...another day older and deeper in debt".

To make a long story short...the gravel is moved....we bought way way too much and it is now in a great pile on top of the area we wanted filled in. We now have to dig out another spot somewhere for the excess.

I was going to do that today and I was going to weed and clear my front garden and plant 6 bushes today.

Alas....I am not Superwoman...today I am Sufferwoman. I have pain in areas I didnt' know I had. My buttox hurt. I slep until 10:00AM and then went back to bed from noon to 3:00PM. I am still in my scottie dog PJ's...I am not going to get dressed. I do have to clean the cat box and wash my clothes...I have to do those things. Other than that....it is a lost Sunday.

Linda and Don had to get up and attned a church function....heck...more than attend, they are partly responsible for the set up and take down. Poor Linda....she is suffer woman....Poor Don...he is suffer man.

I am indebted to them for their help. I just hope they never get a notion to have 1 1/2 tons of gravel moved into their back yard. I will have to help.

However......they had Vicoden to go home to...lucky them...If I could have walked after yesterday...I'd have driven back to DesPlaines to get some of their Vicoden...but it hurt to much to even consider walking to the car.

I lost today....I hate losing days...there is sooo much to do and it is getting cold fast. But I have reached my limitation...I needed to rest.

Here's a tip. If you want a graveled patio area in your yard....pay the man to deliver and haul it around for you. It's worth it.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!