Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:07 p.m. - 2004-11-06
CH CH CH CH CHANGES

Looking Forward

I got a call at work today from an employement agency that only handles full time placement of financial personnel. No temps....no secretarial...no administrative assistants...just pure numbers. She got my resume off of Monster.com and said that they have many opportunities for someone with my qualifications. She said that I could easily be a bookeeper or even a full charge bookeeper and with my experience in Accounts Receivable, could even qualify for an Accounts Receivable Manager. What was important in our discussion is that the pay for these positions go anywhere from $32,000.00 per year to 48,000.00 per year...plus benefits. At the lowest end, this is more than I asked Chander for. I have an interview on Tuesday morning at 10:00AM. I have my new clothes, I have my new shoes, I have my new handbag and I have my new "TUDE". They will put me through a battery of tests to see where I test out at and for which jobs I am qualified. I keep fantasizing that it will be the $48,0000.00 one. Anyway, I am realisticly hoping that I qualify for something they have and I should at least qualify for the low end, which will still be more than I have now. I also told her that I only want to work for growing companies with opportunities for advancement.

When I think about what corporate life will be like compared to the little comfy world of sawdust and truck drivers that I work in now, I realize that they will not have to drag me kicking and screaming into the world of office politics, pantyhose and business suits. For enduring those things, they will pay me....real money..money I can live on. But let's examine here, what am I really giving up.

Driver Tom and his Poop reports and phoney workman's comp claims and potential law suits for descrimination because of his short arm. (We don't discriminate because of his short arm, but he is already suing 2 past employers and yesterday, pulled a stunt that may end up putting us in the same relationship, for which I will have to do all the paperwork and be the liaison between company and attorney and insurance company).

Driver Mike who insists on putting his dirty cowboy hat on my desk after he has removed it from a head of hair that looks greasy and lice ridden.

Larry, who I have removed the title "Love Muffin" from being that he has continued to stay, clean and sober and has not been talkin dirty about Darlene. Larry and I are friends again, but he still talks incessantly and is being paid 800.00 per week to do so, and although I don't blame Larry for his good fortune in Chander believeing he is worth it, I nonetheless feel resentful as he talks and talks while I am getting paid $440.00 to actually work.

In the corporate setting I will likely have a nice professionally cleaned bathroom to go in that I don't have to share with men.

The coporate life will be free of Pallet toting bottom feeder, mouth breathers like Martin Stamper who blew in from Texas, stole a car, got out on a second chance program, got pulled over again for having open liquor in the car and a hypodermic needle and then got out of that one and is continuing to walk the streets of Kane County as well as bring us pallets.

The corporate life will be free of a cheap ass, floor kissing, Hindu boss that has power over how much money I make, (You will have to excuse my racism here now folks....I am very very very bitter.), as I will take no job that has one of these as my boss.

I will no longer have to interrupt my work for rag tag bunches of scavengers to write them a check for $ 19.00 because they brought in 10 pallets strapped to the roof of their 1984 Cordoba.

I will, however miss Mr. L and Mr. K, two old robust Korean War veterans, both in their 70's who get up every morning to scavenge pallets to supplement their pensions and social security. They are dear sweet old souls who remind me that hard work is indeed a virtue.

I will miss my buddy Jesus, who's children have Irish names, who gives me daily Spanish lessons in "The Word or Phrase of the Day" format.

I will always hold Howard dear in my heart as somewhat of a father figure; kind of like the daddy I never had in my adult years, and will miss Dan, kind of like my little brother and do hope to see him again socially. Howard, I think better just remain in my heart. I have deluded myself into thinking of him as a father figure, but do realize that he never really did do me any favors when it came to enriching my pocketbook. I think I will keep him in the fantasy world of my brain as a father figure though...I like it better that way. Sometime you have to lie to yourself for sanity.

I will have to work hard to forgive and forget Chander. I have never had a problem with Hindus before and don't want to go judging them all based on this one man. The only reason that I have that racist feeling in my heart right now is that when he bought the company, I was told by at least 50 people that they were the cheapest sons of bitches in the world and that I would most likely work twice as hard and never see an increase in salary for it....this is indeed what happened. This is why I won't take a chance on working for another Hindu. Hopefully I will be able to shed this terrible association and just think about the sweet gentle neighbors I have, the gentle, smiling nurse who took such good care of my Mother in Law on her last hospital visit, my daughters numerous clients with their beautiful, pollution free hair who have been very generous to her, or to the Hindus I shop side by side with in a crowded grocery store with their well behaved children. I almost hate Chander more because of feeling this way than I do for being such an asswipe. I guess this just goes to show that there are good and bad in every culture. There, I think I have enough role models to offset this one cheap bastard. There are cheap people everywhere...I guess it is my choice as a free American to continue working for them or not....I choose from this day forward...NOT!!!!

I don't like change. Because I don't like change, I have shorted myself. I think I had better start embracing it though because Change is a commin and it's a commin fast.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!