Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:19 p.m. - 2004-10-31
What A Man!!!

Happy Halloween

BOO !!!!!!!

Friday was a beautiful warm summery day. Mother Nature got fooled and when I went out yesterday, I noticed that a rose was blooming on my little dwarf rose bush, my snap dragons had renewed themselves and there was even some small blue chicory flowers blooming by the road side. I took a drive back into the forest preserve and lo and behold...there was a blooming clump of Queen Anne's Lace.

The flowers were probably sorry they came out to play though as Saturday was cold and very very windy...scary windy. I am still recovering from this virus and like a fool, I went to help my sister and her family finish their landscaping. My cousin, Chris, is a talented landscape designer and drew up the plans, brought over the plants, tools and mulch and helped them put it in. I always have so much fun with my family that I just had to go help. That was a mistake. Two hours in the wind and cold, getting physical with the dirt and mulch, set me back...today I feel really crappy...thank God for the extra hour. I am spending the rest of the day in my PJ's inside.

My brother in law, Don, is a good sturdy man. He is full of energy and accomplishes mutiple projects per day through thick and thin. Once I was over at their house at 10 PM on a weeknight. They had hung an old curtain valance up over a window and were lamenting that they would have to pay Country Curtains 35.00 for a matching valance for the other. I suggested that they cut down and hem the valance's matching curtain which they weren't going to use. My sister and I continued discussing their plans for their kitchen when we turned around and Don already had the sewing machine set up on the table and the curtain laid out ready for alterations....at 10PM on a work night!!!!

I was back over there a couple of days later and the curtain was altered and hung already. Seems that Don couldn't rest til it was done so, never having sewn anything before, he went ahead and did the alterations himself and it was a nice job indeed. This really bothers my sister because to the outside world, Don looks like the perfect man. In contrast, she thinks she looks lazy. Those of us who know and love her know that she is anything but lazy. However, I have to admit, to those of us who's husbands don't do jack shit around the house....or out side of the house...like hold down a job even!!!!!!.....well to people like me, the man does look downright....well....PERFECT!!!!!

I can envision Linda rolling her eyes right now as she reads this....OKAY...sorry Linda....but damn, you have to admit that he is one hell of a man.

Where is this all leading?.....Well, yesterday, when I arrived at their house, the whole family and my cousin were furiously planting and spreading mulch in the hurricane force wind. Don didn't look too happy. Apparently, while drilling holes in some kind of drainage pipe, he drilled holes into himself...right into his inner thigh.....UGHH!!!!!!! Was he sitting around lamenting....NO....was he wincing in pain....NO. He was working his ass off as usual. Ok..Ok..the landscaping had to be done...but then after that he was going to put on his boy scout leader uniform and take 10 year old Joe to a Cub Scout Pack Night.

Ok Linda....I'm gonna make you real mad now...."What a MAN!!!!!!! (Don't let him read this Linda...it will go to his head.) This does not mean that I think you are chopped liver...You are one hell of a wife and mother and the world's best sister. I love you both so very much.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!