Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 p.m. - 2004-10-29
Made it through the week

The weeks from hell is finally over

Well guys...I survived. I survived this week from hell. You know, I am such a weeny. All over the world there are people in various forms of poverty, illness and social dysfunction. There are people dying for freedom in Iraq, our soldiers and theirs. There is a lady sleeping outside in the woods by my house and a hospital full of sick people across the street and what do I do....make a big deal out of not getting what I want and having to take my life into my own hands and find another job.

Truly though...it shows how much I am blessed. This is indeed the hardest week I have had since a cold December 10th, 13 years ago, when I signed myself into Alexian Brothers Medical Center for 3 weeks of alcohol rehab.

I caught a doosy of a cold this week, or I am thinking maybe by now the flu as I feel really really sick today....but I made it through 40 hours of work, amended my relationship with my co workers, had a job interview, bought new clothes, found the perfect, soft leather pair of flat pumps so I don't have to wear heels, and pep talked my way into really feeling positive about this change I have am making.

I look forward to a weekend with out drama to recover from this virus or whatever it is and the good feeling of knowing I have gotten my cold for the year and won't be sick again for a long while.

As I reflect on leaving Midtown pallet, I know I will miss my co-workers. We truly are a family and they are my first experience in working since being sober. I started that job when I was 35 years old...a spring chicken and here I am now..close to 50. I have 20 more years to work...that makes me feel young. It is enough time to establish a real career...not just have to finish my work life up as a clerk typist somewhere. I do indeed have a future.

What will I miss about Midtown Pallet? I guess I will discover that once I leave, but I know it will not be Driver Tom's Poop report.

He came in from a run today, rushing to the bathroom mumbling something about needing to get off of that low carb diet. I knew what he meant and just sort of buried my nose in my paperwork. Ungodly sounds erupted from behind the closed bathroom door. (create your own sound effect here by placing your tongue between loose lips and blowing. Now..purse your lips together and blow in short little bursts and then another tongue between the lips to finish off with a nice wet sound).

With the bathroom being right in the office and our desks being directly on the other side of the door, we usually try to ignore anyone having problems on the other side to save all parties from embarrassment. Poop reporters though do not get embarrassed.

"Christ, I really have to get off that low carb diet." Tom announced loudly, hitting the flusher as he walked out of the bathroom, "that stuff goes right through ya."

Again, I tried to ignore his comment.

"Ya know what I mean Paula?" he asked me directly, "huh?"

"YES TOM!!!! I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN" I replied.

Tom left the office and headed to his truck. I got up and walked across the office. As I approached the open bathroom door, I gulped a deep breath, held it, and flicked on the fan while closing the door.

"And I will not miss your daily poop reports." I mumbled, earning rousing laughter from Dan, Larry and driver Mike.

It's good to be laughing again.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!