Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:11 a.m. - 2005-10-16
In the last episode our heroine.......

What have I been up to???

Last year it was my dream to get a better job for which I can support myself and my unemployed husband and then upon completeing that, I ventured forth with fulfilling my dream to have a single family home in an old historic town.

Now I have no life....or should I say...my job and my house are my life.

When I first signed onto Dland, I wrote almost every day and always managed to have something to write about....Today, I have to scratch for something to write about because I have no life outside of work and home.

The only thing I have to complain about though is that I don't have more time to work on my house....I love my house. Don't love the job, but it pays the bills.

I have often been asked why I don't write about this job. Well, this job simply has nothing in it to write about except for my irritating boss. He is a micromanaging, control freak with a Jack Benny voice and quite a character and I suppose someone not so influenced by him daily could sit down and write volumes about him, but I am so worn out by him at the end of a day that I just can't bring myself to let him live in my brain even one moment after work ends...even to write about him. Other than him....everyone else I work with is quiet...normal and hardworking and NOTHING and I mean NOTHING funny or noteworthy ever happens there.

What's happening at the house??? Well...Mother in law was supposed to move in right after getting out of the hospital...she didn't...I don't ask..what happens between her and her son...stays between her and her son. They have no rational reasons for anything they do and I stopped asking. Then she was supposed to move in by November 1st. She forgot to tell her apartment complex she was leaving and they are holding her to one months notice...sooooo, now we are looking at December...Oh, fun...holiday season and we will be taking in all her boxes and crap. I was so looking forward to decorating this year but it will most likely be impossible. We are moving a packrat in with two packrats and she is the Queen of the Packrats. (unlike Queen of the Pie Rats like Poola)


She will no doubt physically move in here early November and I will start taking solace up in my 2nd story quarters when I join our buddy, Wyndspirit in NaNoWriMo this November putting my character "Ruby Calhoun" through her paces and see where she takes me. If I don't hit the 50,000 words, at least it will be an excuse to cloister myself in my computer room for the month.

Aunt Edie came to visit from West Virginia. We visited and I got to show her my house and my lovely city and we shopped and ate too much at a buffet and all in all had a great time.

Daughter, Michelle just finished her last day at Aqua Salon. She left Heidi's because it was getting tacky and she feared that at anytime corporate giant "Regis" was going to shut it down. She was wooed by a new salon owner who had visions of opening up a hip, fancy salon/spa and schmoozed a couple of good stylists into joining her, then built her business on their following and never put another dime into it. There was my baby..one of the hottest stylists in the Golden Corridor and she is in a "Granny Salon" not bulding new clientel and not having a good time and not growing and not doing funky fashion shows and having all the fun she used to at Heidi's.

Heidi's did close on a weeks notice and 2 senior stylists from there opened HIP, a truley up and coming salon who is on the ball and on the move. All of Michelle's buddies from Heidies went over to Hip after promising her boss at Aqua they would come and work for her. Since Nancy, the owner of Aqua lost all that free business (once again, counting on only gleaning the customers her stylists bring her rather than advertising and doing things to grow her salon), she has a vendetta against Hip. She was furious when Michelle told her she was leaving...for Hip no less and is threatening to sue. Since Michelle signed no pre employment agreement, Ms. Nancy doesn't have a leg to stand on.

Michelle knew she was leaving a month or so ago and embarked on a clandestine project of secretly getting her client's addresses, phone numbers and email addresses so she could notify them of her move. Since starting at Aqua, Nancy had forbade any of the stylists to get their clients information lest they take the clients and run off to work for someone else. When you are a salon owner you must jump through hoops to keep good people. Nancy did not jump through hoops and now she is a loser.

Michelle has been building this following for 6 years and it is fair game for her to do everything she can to keep them. As a business owner Nancy should have been builing her salon instead of riding the coattails of those that work for her and only coming in several days per week, choosing instead to decorate her 500,000.00 home instead of grow her business.

Good luck Michelle.

The only other news I have is that the 100 foot Walnut tree has been disassembled and is now sitting in a great chunky pile in my backyard where it will have to cure for a couple of months before being split into approximately 4 cords of wood and stacked along my back fence for 2 years before we can burn it.

The menfolk in the neighborhood are envious at Mike's pile of Black Walnut but I am a bit disheartened because it has messed up the yard I am working so hard to put into shape. He also struck a deal with the tree guy to sell us a face cord of seasoned Oak to burn this year. The oak is laying in a great pile next to the chunks of black walnut waiting to be stacked....who knows where.

With that...I leave you all to go out into the yard and plant the 9 bushes I bought at Home Depot yesterday.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!