Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:27 a.m. - 2005-08-06
This entry includes a recipe

Not much New

I spent some time looking back over the last 8 or 9 months. Although it seems like the blink of an eye, it also seems like an eternity.

Just one short year ago, I was working at the Pallet company and not even considering a new job. Dreaming, but not really considering it seriously. Just one short year ago, I was dreaming of living in a pretty older home in Elgin, but really, I was just doing drive bys on my lunch hour and thinking "If Only" thoughts.

Here I am a year later, new job...hell, new career and I am in one of those charming old houses in Elgin which I can call my own.

I am desperately trying to get settled here. We are still living in box city and there is still sooo much to do. I am finding that my stuff doesn't look good in this house. I yearn to have a giant garage sale and clear out everything I own and take the proceeds to buy things that to properly furnish a 1936 Cape Cod.

My European art prints just don't go here and my fiesta ware, although having an art deco look to them which does jive with the 30's....just doesn't seem to go in this Cape Cod. So now I am again wishing for more and different.

I must put on my brakes and reel in though. There is an awful lot to do and I am just plain old pooped. The weekdays I find myself too wiped out to do much and the weekends I just want to chill. I must admit, I have bitten off more than I can chew this year and I am just plain old POOPED. I must resist all temptation to add anymore stress or "NEW" to my life and just settle these old overweight bones in to what I now have.

I received the most lovely card from BOXX yesterday. The front of it shows a lovely art print of a beautiful table set up on a pretty patio that looks like it is on the Mediterranian. I love such pictures and wanted to post a picture of it here, but my scanner is on the fritz and I am currently downloading new drivers in an attempt to fix it. If I succeed, I will treat you all the that lovely picture.

My sister reads this diary and she also reads my notes so I want everyone to join me in encouraging her to join our little party here and get herself her own Diaryland site.

Linda works in a High School Administration office and the cast of characters she works with would make some very interesting reading as well as a place for her to vent. She twiddles her thumbs all day at work and an online diary would be a great way to spend the time.

This is a private joke between the two of us that would take more explanation that I have time for, but I think her screen name should be "SUFFERWOMAN".

What do you say Lindypoo?

When Art Caldwell sent me that awsome sandwich book, I promised to share some of the recipes....so I leave you all with this one.

From The Great State of Alabama

The P B & J Bama Christo

Canola Oil or cooking spray


1 egg


2 Tablespoons milk


3 1/2 teaspoons peanut butter


2 1/2 teaspoons apple jelly


2 slices Texas Toast (quality white bread sliced 1 inch thick and toasted)


2 slices bacon fried crisp and drained

If deep frying the sandwich, heat oil to a depth of 2 inches in a deep heavy frying pan until it reaches 350 degrees.

In a shallow bowl, wide enough for dipping the sandwich, prepare the batter by beating together the Egg and Milk

In a seperate bowl, mix the peanut butter and apple jelly.

Spread the peanut butter mixture on one slice of the toast, top with bacon and cover with the remaining slice of toast.

Press the sandwich together lightly.

Dip the sandwich into the batter, until coated on both sides.

Deep fry the sandwich in the hot fat or fry on the griddle that has been preheated and greased with cooking spray, about 30 seconds or until golden brown on each side.

Drain on paper towels, slice in half and serve immediately.

If you don't need cholesterol meds yet, this sandwich may push you over the edge.

Sounds yummy...huh???

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!