Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:04 p.m. - 2006-07-09
Say it aint so

Gettin Ready To Say Goodbye

Well, the days are waxing and waning and in a couple more, the time to say goodbye to my Sister Diane and my two Nephews extrodinaire, Jack and Matty, will be upon us. We only get to see them once every 5 years, which is not much time in adult years but in a childs life, it is a millenium.

They live down under in Australia, you see, and watching them grow up has been like watching through some cruel time warp that only lets us glimpse them at specific ages. I saw both as babies, 5 year olds, Jack at 8, Matty at 10, Jack again at 13 and their personalities have changed along with their faces and bodies. The realization that the next time I get to see Jack, he will be almost a grown man of 18 and Matt 15.....well, can you tell I'm balling like a baby right now.

Blood is thicker than water. I am sure of it now as even though we start our visits as virtual strangers, we all settle in together as if we have been living next door to each other forever.

This week, we gathered in a great big pile....right on top of each other. A million shoes in the hallway the washer and dryer in a constant hum. Aunt Edie came in from West Virginia, Aunt Jo and Uncle Carl from Florida and yesterday we had every relative within driving distance in Linda and Don's back yard for a big picnic.

I dread Wednesday as that will be the day we say our last goodbyes and set the clock for another 5 years.

Goodbye my Aussie family....my little kangaroos....my precious sister.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!